Curried Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Good as a very basic recipe, but it needs more seasoning - a little turmeric, ground coriander, ground cumin, some cayenne. Salt and pepper too. I made it with coconut milk but also added a glug of heavy cream. A medium potato, peeled and diced, makes it go a little further too. This turned out nicely but it needs a bit of tweakage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I gave this five stars with taking into account Caroline C's tips on adding spices. I added extra curry paste, cumin, coriander, cayenne, salt&pepper, and otherwise followed the recipe. I really think the added spices are important. I loved the smooth delicious flavor of this HEALTHY soup and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was a fabulous soup - I did doctor the ingredients a bit - I added more curry paste, cayenne pepper, Kosher salt and dried basil leaves. My boyfriend insists that on the next go-around I add baby peas and shrimp - since he has very good taste, I just might listen (for once). Thank you for submitting this healthy and delicious meal. Cheers! **Update** - added the shrimp and it was . . . SWITCHED ON! (a.k.a EXCELLENT!) - Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This soup is amazing! I used light coconut milk and low sodium chicken broth. I also sprayed the vegetables lightly with olive oil before roasting. I used Thai Kitchen red curry paste which is VERY spicy, but thats ok... in the bottom of the soup cup, I put fresh pineapple chunks and a small scoop of brown rice. The pineapple added just a bit more flavor and toned the heat down a bit. Will make often this winter! Hubby suggested shrimp in it too like another cook here did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I loved this soup!! I didn't follow the directions exactly (as I had to wait for my husband to bring me some missing coconut milk & curry paste). Reduced the stock by about 2 cups since I like thick soups... but it was DELICIOUS! Next time I'll try a hotter curry paste and not a mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very tasty indeed - however as per the other reviewers I would def pimp this one up with extra spices - I followed all directions except that I whizzed up a good chunk of ginger, fresh coriander, small handfull of black peppercorns, dash of tumeric and garam masala powders with 2 tablespoons of tikka masala curry paste, then fried this in some oil before adding the vegetable stock, coconut milk and roasted cauliflower/onion and garlic. YUM - next time I'll make it with two heads of cauliflower and feed the masses :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very good soup. I was very liberal with the curry paste. I added a healthy dash of cayenne along with tumeric, tarragon, and curry powder in generous proportions. I used light coconut milk and a dollup of fat free greek yogurt for good measure. It came out well. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. It's great for cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilMsMetaphor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I thought this soup was excellent. I think the type of curry paste used makes all the difference. I used red curry paste and I didn't have to add any extra spices. Red curry can be very spicy so for people that don't want the extra spice they should choose a milder curry paste. It was perfect for me. I think it would also be good not blended if you wanted a chunky soup. I also used light coconut mild and used 4 cups of bouillon. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
A great, easy recipe! It's become a standby for me, is really versatile and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
A good start for a curried cream vegetable soup. Still was missing some oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States