Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This is my recipe originally and I have played with it to over time. I tend to thin it with some extra water and season it with a hotter curry when the dinner guest list allows. Thanks for all of the other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2000
This tasted great!!! I have just lost over 20 lbs. on weight watchers, so I modified the recipe slightly . . . I used only 2 tsp. of oil to prepare the onions, and then I sprayed the carrots with non-stick olive oil cooking spray before adding them to the pot. This lower-fat version still tasted wonderful! Yum - thanks Doug for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
This is it!!! Good for all. I have made it time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I really loved this recipe! I didn't add water because we like our soups thick. I used a hot curry powder and it gave it a bit of a nip, just enough! A great way to get your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
This soup is excellent, I made a large quantity and froze it for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Loved it. I will definitely make it again. I might add a smidge more curry next time but I like HOT. Also, it tasted even better the next day when the flavors really seeped in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Super soup! We added 2 tsp minced ginger with carrots and that gave it a nice spicy flavor. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is a wonderful,easy soup that has lots of kick. My family loved it. A little too spicy for my 3 year old though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I returned home from work hungry and in need of a dinner made from scratch. But what to do in a snap, to curb my grumbling stomach? I headed for the soups category, first on Cooking Light.com, then on Epicurious.com, finally on AllRecipes.com. Believe me, my stomach was grumpy, and I had to act fast. This soup not only fit the bill regarding speed and ease, it completely surprised me with its subtle strength. It is so delicious, but not over-flavored. It's got distinct spice, but it's not competing. The strength of this soup is its elegant subtlety: it's light, fresh, and absolutely perfect. Give it a try - only stone soup could be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFALO GAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otisco, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Wonderful soup - easy and very flavorful - I added other Indian spices as well as the curry and a ton of garlic - fantastic. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States