Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Really tasty, a definate keeper. I added garlic with the onions and along with the curry powder, cumin and garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I had a bunch of carrots so looked for a good recipe. This was great! Simple and delicious. I read the reviews and, like others, added another T curry. I also added 2 cloves garlic with the onion, and saved some of the cooked carrots to add chunks to the puree mixture. I also added about 1/4 t salt. I garnished it with sour cream the first time, then with plain yogurt and some fresh cut cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I didn't think this recipe was too bad, but my husband didnt care for it at all. It was very thick so I might add more broth next time and use chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
As a lover of carrots and curry, I couldn't wait to try this recipe. I thought it was delicious. I used 3(14oz) cans of chicken broth, additional curry, but did not add any water. I simplified the puree step by using a stick blender into the pot. JAH, Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Wonderful soup - easy and very flavorful - I added other Indian spices as well as the curry and a ton of garlic - fantastic. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
We love this recipe. It is even better reheated. I add more onion and more curry than is suggested to make it spicier. It is nice served with caramelized onions, sour cream, and/or croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great flavor. I used chicken broth to make it a little richer. I ended up using about 5 cups total to get the right consistency. At the end I added half a block of crumbled firm tofu to add protein. Next time, I'll probably only puree half of it so it will be chunkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglinguist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe at all...the flavor was strange, with a bitter aftertaste that wasn't very pleasant. Perhaps it was because it called for a whole tablespoon of curry powder? Also, as is, the recipe calls for no salt or pepper, so I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/8 tsp. of ground black pepper for more flavor. The one good thing about this recipe is how quick and easy it is to make. Even so, I wouldn't make it again. Thanks for sharing, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
We did not like this at all. I actually threw most of it out. And it sounded so good when I read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This is so good, I'm really impressed!! I will make it many more times, it was very easy too. The balance of ingredients was perfect, I just added a little more curry...I used 2 knorr Vegetable bouillon cubes and 4 cups of water for the broth. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYSPINELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States