Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have made this as a first course for dinner with guests several times. It is a can't fail recipe if there ever was one. For me, it is a tad sweet but given the nutrition of the soup, I always go back to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe at all...the flavor was strange, with a bitter aftertaste that wasn't very pleasant. Perhaps it was because it called for a whole tablespoon of curry powder? Also, as is, the recipe calls for no salt or pepper, so I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/8 tsp. of ground black pepper for more flavor. The one good thing about this recipe is how quick and easy it is to make. Even so, I wouldn't make it again. Thanks for sharing, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good. Made same as recipe "except" I didn't have enough vegetable broth so used half vegetable and half chicken. Did not need to add water at the end. Used a stick blender to puree. Measured the carrots to 4 cups chopped as I was using from a 25# bag of carrots. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Stanfield, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I followed other's advice and doubled the curry powder. I also added a small can of coconut milk. Used an immersion blender. Turned out DELICIOUS! Great and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I usually do not stick to the recipe for savory dishes, but there was not much to alter here without getting a completely different product. And what do you know, it is good as is! i did not add the extra water in order for it to be thick enough for my toddler to be able to navigate it himself, and he ate at least a cupful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Delicious! I added in four cloves of garlic (one was pretty small) when I sautéed the onion, but other than that, left the recipe as is. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Good combination of ingredients, soup was quite thick. I had to use extra vegetable broth. Next time I think I'll use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I like the curry powder - a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
There are only 2 of us, so I halved the recipe. The bf doesn't like onion, so I omitted it but added some garlic, and used beef broth instead of the vegetable. I also added just a tiny amount of cumin. This recipe is simple and tasty. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My husband liked this, but I did not. I would not recommend adding extra curry, it was very salty and spiced when I added an extra teaspoon than the recipe called for. I tried adding some basmati rice, didn't help. Just...disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Substitute canned pumpkin for the carrots and it's an AMAZING easy light fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vida
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States