Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
so simple yet so good! It has a creamy rich taste at then end, without the calories of a cream-based soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
So good! I did add garlic and a little sprinkle or turmeric. Excellent recipe, quick and easy. Making it for the second night in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I followed this recipe, but like others increased the curry powder to 2 TBSPs and added 1/2 tsp of Garam Masala. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious. Based on other reviews I added minced garlic and 1 more TBS of curry powder because my hubby likes things spicy. Just before serving I added a dollop of plain yogurt to each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this soup, but there are two things I change that make all the difference. 1) I don't use any water at all, and 2) I add a fair amount of salt and pepper at the end. (I can't believe the recipe doesn't include any seasoning at all!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very Good and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lars Sahlen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
OH MY WORD this is an amazing recipe! Thank you, Doug! I only have a small blender so I ended up leaving the soup chunky, which turned out wonderfully! I will do this intentionally next time. I also added more curry powder and some garam masala like other reviewers suggested. I would have added cumin as well, but I just ran out. I will try it next time. Additionally, I spontaneously topped the soup with a few toasted cashews and it was great, although took away from the wonderful curried carrot flavor already there. May not add the cashews next time. I also arranged some zucchini peels on bread with olive oil and pepper and stuck it in the oven to toast for a bit. This made a wonderful accompaniment to the soup, as I dipped it in and even spooned the carrot chunks onto the toast. I will definitely serve this with naan next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I gave it 5 stars, but I must say I completely changed the recipe. I used this as a starting point. I had 4 lbs of locally grown pesticide free carrots that I had to use up, but i only used about 2 1/2 of them. I sauteed the onions with garlic. Added 2 tbsp of curry powder 1/2 tsp of garam masala and 1/2 tsp of ginger. As the carrots were cooking in the vegetable broth, I roasted some corn cut off the cob and a red onion on the stove in some coconut oil. I also cooked 1 cup of jasmine rice. I reserved some of the carrot mixture and about 1/2 the corn mixture and 1/2 the rice before pureeing everything else with an immersion blender. Then added the remainder of veggies and rice to give it some texture and topped it with a dollop of plain yogurt and ate it with some fresh bread from my bread maker. YUM!! Even my 4 and 6 year olds gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
A good place to start, easy to make. I added celery & garlic, salt & pepper. I also used a stick blender to reduce clean up. BUT WAY TOO MUCH CURRY!! I added 1 cup cream AND 1 cup water just to dilute the curry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Nice, easy, tasty soup. I added 3 cloves of garlic and half a tsp ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States