Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This soup was just wonderful. As others recommended, I sauteed garlic with the onion, used chicken broth instead of veg, and doubled the curry. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Great soup and REALLY easy to make if you're a busy person! To thin the soup a bit, I used 5 cups total vegetable broth and a 1/2 cup water. Added a half tbsp more curry powder and a teaspoon garam masala for a bit more kick. Very tasty, low-cal, and the husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good! I had a lot of carrots and was looking for something to do with them when I came across this recipe. I read several reviews and decided to add extra curry (because I love it) and do as advised and leave some carrots and onions un-blended to add after. I was pleasantly surprised when my boyfriend said he like it (he is very picky). I thought it good and brought the left overs to work then next day. It was good then too! If ever I have an abundance of carrots again this is the recipe I will use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Needs double the curry powder. Would be really good with coconut milk as the final finish liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very Good and Easy! I did play around with this a bit and used suggestions of using chicken broth, adding garam masala,cumin and garlic. I also added 1/2 a cup of milk. I do like more of a soupier soup so I added more water like the recipe states. I would definitely add this to an Indian feast with some Naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this tonight with a few additions: Garlic, Cumin and Philadelphia Cooking creme (plain) and garnished with some chives. It came out to the perfect balance of sweet, salty and spicy. Absolutely loved it!! Would make an excellent fall/winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TanyaAD138

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This soup was excellent! I added extra curry, added celery seed and used chicken stock instead of veggie broth. Definitely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used butter instead of oil and added celery shortly after the onions. Didn't add any water at all but I did add a little salt and pepper and sour cream after blending. We LOVED this soup. Even my husband who doesn't like curry said this was the best soup he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very tasty - a little too spicy from the curry for me, would use less next time. I doubted the raisins but they were really good - nice balance of sweet to the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great flavor. I used chicken broth to make it a little richer. I ended up using about 5 cups total to get the right consistency. At the end I added half a block of crumbled firm tofu to add protein. Next time, I'll probably only puree half of it so it will be chunkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglinguist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States