Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
OH MY WORD this is an amazing recipe! Thank you, Doug! I only have a small blender so I ended up leaving the soup chunky, which turned out wonderfully! I will do this intentionally next time. I also added more curry powder and some garam masala like other reviewers suggested. I would have added cumin as well, but I just ran out. I will try it next time. Additionally, I spontaneously topped the soup with a few toasted cashews and it was great, although took away from the wonderful curried carrot flavor already there. May not add the cashews next time. I also arranged some zucchini peels on bread with olive oil and pepper and stuck it in the oven to toast for a bit. This made a wonderful accompaniment to the soup, as I dipped it in and even spooned the carrot chunks onto the toast. I will definitely serve this with naan next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I gave it 5 stars, but I must say I completely changed the recipe. I used this as a starting point. I had 4 lbs of locally grown pesticide free carrots that I had to use up, but i only used about 2 1/2 of them. I sauteed the onions with garlic. Added 2 tbsp of curry powder 1/2 tsp of garam masala and 1/2 tsp of ginger. As the carrots were cooking in the vegetable broth, I roasted some corn cut off the cob and a red onion on the stove in some coconut oil. I also cooked 1 cup of jasmine rice. I reserved some of the carrot mixture and about 1/2 the corn mixture and 1/2 the rice before pureeing everything else with an immersion blender. Then added the remainder of veggies and rice to give it some texture and topped it with a dollop of plain yogurt and ate it with some fresh bread from my bread maker. YUM!! Even my 4 and 6 year olds gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
A good place to start, easy to make. I added celery & garlic, salt & pepper. I also used a stick blender to reduce clean up. BUT WAY TOO MUCH CURRY!! I added 1 cup cream AND 1 cup water just to dilute the curry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Nice, easy, tasty soup. I added 3 cloves of garlic and half a tsp ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Try serving just luke-warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream for a delicious summer dessert! I used chicken rather than vegetable broth and it turned out rather good, but I'll halve the amount of broth next time (I think it overpowered the carrot flavor). Would also recommend retaining some carrot chunks for a more interesting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I added 2 cloves of garlic, doubled the curry and added 1 teaspoon garam masala. It was delicious, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Pretty good. I added garlic. Don't overdo the curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was good, but I think if I make it again I'll go with other reviewers and add coconut milk. Super easy and cheap though. I halved a bag of baby carrots. For the curry I used the $1.99 packet from Cost Plus. Love those for spices I can't use before they get stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This soup was just wonderful. As others recommended, I sauteed garlic with the onion, used chicken broth instead of veg, and doubled the curry. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Great soup and REALLY easy to make if you're a busy person! To thin the soup a bit, I used 5 cups total vegetable broth and a 1/2 cup water. Added a half tbsp more curry powder and a teaspoon garam masala for a bit more kick. Very tasty, low-cal, and the husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States