Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The flavor of this soup left something to be desired. Salt? Pepper? Heavy cream? I also recommend adding only a half tablespoon of curry powder in the beginning. More can be added later to taste. On second thought, it might be a better idea to just instead go with a cream-based recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
It was kind of dull to start but TWEAKED with tumeric instead of curry, a little fresh ginger, black pepper, dried hot peppers and a good cup of green tea added to the mix it was superb for a windy winters night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Needed a bit of salt. It was a bit bland, but still good. I will try again, but will add a few extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Delicious! The first time I made it, I did exactly as the recipe says, and it was PERFECT. The second time, it was a little thick. Maybe I didn't add enough water. It's so filling and satisfying for so few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This wasn't to my liking at all (sorry!). My adventerous husband didn't even like this. For me, it was the taste (somewhat bitter) and for my hubs, it was the texture (he compared this to over pureed baby food). While I enjoy all of these ingredients on their own, they don't work well together. I even splurged and bought fresh curry powder from my local gourmet spice shop (so I know the spice isn't the issue). I pretty much followed Doug's directions to the letter, however, I did substitute chicken broth for veggie broth (I always have chicken broth on hand). It took a little more than a cup's worth of extra broth to achieve a slightly thin consistency. Creme fraiche added a nice finishing touch (and was what helped salvage our soup) and the naan I served on the side filled us up. Oh well, I guess every recipe can't be a winner. At least I was able to crank out my new immersion blender. Thanks anyways, Doug! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My husband and I couldn't get enough!!!! Delicious!!!!! Thank you very much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mila

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
this is a wonderful healthy soup! and so cheap! i will be making this over and over again. i added a bit more curry and only had beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather888
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is good! I also used a tablespoon of dried tarragon when I cooked the onions, then added 2 tbsp of curry vs. 1. I used chicken broth (4 cups) and then instead of additional water, I used probably about a cup additional liquid in total (so 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup chicken broth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a fantastic curl up by the fire with a bowl of soup recipe! Tastes gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERALEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great recipe! Love the curry - carrot flavor combo! Only change i made was to add one potato and some milk to make it a bit creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States