Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I thought it was brilliant. I added some kidney beans, chili powder and used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I kept it nice and thick and served it on toast. I will definitely be making this one again. 5 Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This soup was very good, but can be adapted to your individual tastes by adding other ingredients. I didn't have vegetable broth on hand so I used water and added extra spices. Instead of thinning it with water I added milk and just a touch of sugar for a slightly sweet taste. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This wasn't bad, but I couldn't taste carrot, only curry. I think next time I would half the amount of curry powder I used, although I guess it does depend on what brand of curry powder you use and how fresh it is. After all we're all using different types and getting different results accordingly. Mine was clearly too hot. I will make this again, but I'll be more careful with the curry powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poldweia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northolt, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have made a soup very similar with ginger instead of curry. I added a tbsp of each and some tumeric. It was really good. You can switch it back a forth depending on who you are cooking for. If they don't like curry then use just ginger and vice versa. Either way is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Delicious, healthy, fast and easy. What more could you ask for? I added more curry and some ginger to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I like the basics, but I agree something was off in the recipe. I'll keep working with it, per other reviewers suggestions, because it's so easy and I like the curry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This soup is so delicious. I used chicken broth as I am not fond of the taste of canned vegetable broth. I didn't quite use the full amount of curry and added a little salt to taste. I thought it was absolutely great as is, without the addition of extra spices or garlic. It made a nice, light first course for our meal and what a great way to get your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I feel exactly like Lynn; I love curry and I love carrots,but I did not like this soup at all. I too tried to dilute it by adding more carrots,but it never tasted quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
The only down-side to this recipe is that someone has to peel the carrots...! It doesn't taste of curry, but rather has a wonderful subtle flavour. It's also really quick to make. I've made this several times and have been asked for the recipe over and over. Serve with some quality grainy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
It was delicious, although it was bland until I added some other indian spices as recommended. Ex. Cumin, coriander, garam masala...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States