Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Dee-LISH! Definitely add the garlic with the onion, but then when adding the cumin, add also 1/2 tsp of garam masala and 1/2 tsp of cumin (the trifecta of Indian spices!). It gives the recipe a wonderful lift and is simply delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
great base but i added a few of the suggested spices from other reviewers. The additional spices really made a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jog4donuts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Wow. Not only was this soup sooo good but it was a quick recipe. I added 2 tablespoons of cocunut milk before I blended the soup. The curry was perfect. Not to mild and not to hot. This is the type of soup you make when friends come over. They will be very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this recipe, only instead of curry I added ginger as per another reviewer's suggestion. I added a little extra ginger than the recipe called for for curry powder. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
i also added garlic, tumeric, and garam marsala. thinned with milk. next time, ginger. yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I thought it was brilliant. I added some kidney beans, chili powder and used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I kept it nice and thick and served it on toast. I will definitely be making this one again. 5 Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This soup was very good, but can be adapted to your individual tastes by adding other ingredients. I didn't have vegetable broth on hand so I used water and added extra spices. Instead of thinning it with water I added milk and just a touch of sugar for a slightly sweet taste. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This wasn't bad, but I couldn't taste carrot, only curry. I think next time I would half the amount of curry powder I used, although I guess it does depend on what brand of curry powder you use and how fresh it is. After all we're all using different types and getting different results accordingly. Mine was clearly too hot. I will make this again, but I'll be more careful with the curry powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poldweia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northolt, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have made a soup very similar with ginger instead of curry. I added a tbsp of each and some tumeric. It was really good. You can switch it back a forth depending on who you are cooking for. If they don't like curry then use just ginger and vice versa. Either way is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Delicious, healthy, fast and easy. What more could you ask for? I added more curry and some ginger to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States