Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Really simple and super yummy. I'm don't usually mess with recipes but I added garlic like many suggested and used coconut oil instead of vegetable, only because it's all I had. It's got a really good sweetness to go with the curry flavour. I didn't add any water in the end because I like a thick soup. I will be saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great for a point of departure. Like others, I sautéed a few cloves of garlic with the onions to start. Butter as a substitute or enhancement to vegetable oil I think helps. I also minced some ginger, maybe about 2 tablespoons. I add equal parts butternut squash to the carrots. A teaspoon maybe more cumin. Dashes of chili powder and coriander, to taste. Teaspoon or so of salt. Lots of broth for cooking and consistency, as well as flavor. I use chicken broth because it is easy and mild. Cayenne. Maybe half a teaspoon, cause I like it hot. Wife and some of the kids do not or it would be more. And I almost double the curry powder. But then, I am making big batches and usually adlibbing a lot. Easy, good, simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very nice meal of this soup and Rosemary focaccia. My only changes to the original recipe were coconut oil, loads more curry, ginger, cumin and chicken broth to thin. What a fantastically flavorful meal for under $5. We will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great way to use up carrots! My picky 19 month old even liked it. I used 2 tablespoons of curry instead of one and used the immersion blender in the pot instead of blender. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelovedBeaumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Very nice flavor! I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil & added turmeric & fresh minced ginger which are in the same spice pallet. These minor changes make this soup an anti-inflammatory power house! Garnished with plain greek yogurt & a dash of paprika--very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Easy and it tastes good. What more can one say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Ok, lots of changes to make it delicious because it is way too plain on its own (which is why I gave it 2 stars). I used chicken broth instead of water. Added 2 tsp of minced garlic, 1 tsp of minced ginger, 1/2 tsp tumeric, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp carriander, and just to add something extra I added potatoes to the cooking carrots. And of course salt and pepper to taste. I dont suggest adding garam masala to the soup, the cinnamon and cloves tend to make it less savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This soup is a big hit whenever I make it. I added two cloves of garlic, crushed when frying the onions, only 1 cup water when blending as I like the consistency and flavor. I added finely chopped cilantro before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exeter, Devon, England, U.K.
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Added cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, bay leaves, cummin, and doubled curry amount and did not use water, instead, used two boxes of chicken broth. Tastes even better if you add shredded cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I had made carrot juice and wanted to do something with the pulp. This was perfect! I did add one small red potato peeled and diced. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States