Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I added more garlic, ginger and onion than called for - great kick. Otherwise, followed the recipe closely... Used an immersion blender to purée, which saved some cleanup time, and made a wonderfully textured soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Very tasty soup. Roasted the squash, onion, and pears together. Sauted the garlic, ginger and curry powder for minute and then added the roasted veggies, and chicken stock. Brought everything to the boil and used an immersion blender. Didn't need the cream at all...got really great compliments from guests at thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Baked the squash with fuji apples instead of the pears. I had to TRY not to eat the whole thing in one go. SO SO good!!! My new go-to dish. It has a depth of flavour that I wasn't expecting. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Im always looking for low calorie soup recipies--this is a great one. I omitted the half-n-half and cut the butter in half and the soup turned out great. Just the right blend of spice and sweet. Thanks for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This soup is amazing! I followed the recipe exactly. My stock was leftover turkey stock so there were some pieces of turkey in there too that got blended in with the rest. Will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Fantastic! I was in a hurry so I cut the squash, wrapped in plastic & microwaved both halves together for ten minutes, checked for doneness, scooped out seeds & put right into the recipe. Absolutely delicious! Added a little nutmeg for added ooomph. Definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Oh yeah, this is delicious! By accident, I used three times more ginger (2 Tbsp instead of 2 tsp) than called for, but it sure didn't hurt this flavourful soup. I'll try it next time with the amount called for and see which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Best butternut squash soup yet - the pear flavour is lovely. If you live somewhere wher you get smaller pears (we are in Northern Canada), use three to ensure you get the nice taste and texture of the pear too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Hannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This soup is amazing! I roasted the pears with the squash as others suggested. Will be making this for Thanksgiving dinner for sure! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wow! This soup was so yummy. I didn't have half and half so I used coconut milk instead. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States