Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wonderful! This soup has terrific flavor. You could even leave off the half and half and still have a delicious soup. I used 2 Tbsp of butter rather than 3. Everyone loved it, and my grown son asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I've been making the same boring butternut squash soup for 3 years now and wanted to change it up. After reading the recipe and the reviews i thought the combination of flavours sounded exciting so I gave it a try. I followed the ingredients and instructions exactly minus the 1/2 cup of half and half, instead used 1/2 cup of coconut milk. It turned out ammmmaaaazing!!! My husband absolutely loved it! Said it was the best soup I have ever made! Today I made it again for the 2nd time this week and this time I added some shrimp. Soooo Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was incredible!!!! Made it for thanksgiving and everybody loved it! So worth the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was so delicious! Made it for my sick aunt & she loved it! A keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CurlyCaramelCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Delicious soup! I would agree with other reviewers to use coconut milk instead of half and half. The sweetness of the coconut adds more dimension to the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
It was my first attempt to make butternut squash soup so I followed the recipe exactly. I loved the added flavor of the curry and ginger. I don't know if it was the squash or the pears... but it was a bit too sweet for me. Still, the pot is completely gone. I might try it again with one instead of 2 pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Great even without the pear. Try to use shallots as they add a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was awesome, but I changed it. Left out the half and half and used a can of coconut milk; left out the pears. Creamy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Delicious, perfect, rave-worthy recipe! I used coconut milk instead of the half-and-half, and it was fabulous. And, this recipe is SCD / GAPS friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this soup this afternoon. It turned out amazing. Peel your squash, poke with holes and bake at 350 for an hour for a much easier time cubing. I roasted another 1/2 hour on foil lined sheets. I doubled the garlic and used vegetable broth and olive oil instead of chicken and butter (vegetarian). I also used two honey crisp apples instead of the pears. I kicked it up a bit with a pinch of cayenne. I can say enough about how awesome this turned out. Making french bread to go with it tonight. The perfect Winter time comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States