Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was so delicious! Made it for my sick aunt & she loved it! A keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CurlyCaramelCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Delicious soup! I would agree with other reviewers to use coconut milk instead of half and half. The sweetness of the coconut adds more dimension to the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
It was my first attempt to make butternut squash soup so I followed the recipe exactly. I loved the added flavor of the curry and ginger. I don't know if it was the squash or the pears... but it was a bit too sweet for me. Still, the pot is completely gone. I might try it again with one instead of 2 pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Great even without the pear. Try to use shallots as they add a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was awesome, but I changed it. Left out the half and half and used a can of coconut milk; left out the pears. Creamy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Delicious, perfect, rave-worthy recipe! I used coconut milk instead of the half-and-half, and it was fabulous. And, this recipe is SCD / GAPS friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this soup this afternoon. It turned out amazing. Peel your squash, poke with holes and bake at 350 for an hour for a much easier time cubing. I roasted another 1/2 hour on foil lined sheets. I doubled the garlic and used vegetable broth and olive oil instead of chicken and butter (vegetarian). I also used two honey crisp apples instead of the pears. I kicked it up a bit with a pinch of cayenne. I can say enough about how awesome this turned out. Making french bread to go with it tonight. The perfect Winter time comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I tried this recipe on the weekend and it was fantastic. I took another reviewer's suggestion and used coconut milk instead of the half and half. I chose to use a couple of carrots instead of the pears and it turned out lovely. I'm going to get pears next time - I think their sweetness will be amazing with the curry and squash. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
wow. The reviews for this recipe are spot on. It's even better than it sounds. I did a few things differently by roasting the pear and onion as well...but the concept remained the same. I steamed the butternut for about 10 minutes (cut it in half, scoop out seeds and put it cut side down in a baking dish with 1/4 inch of water). Then pour off the water, peel and cut the squash into 1 inch cubes, add the pears (peeled, cored and quartered) and the onion (chopped) to the baking sheet. Toss with a bit of evoo. Bake about 35-40 minutes or until beginning to caramelize. Continue with the recipe as directed. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. I omitted the salt and the cream to keep it healthier and used apples as that's what I had in the fridge. I also cubed the squash and baked it so that it was ready more quickly. This was delicious! I added a tsp of hot curry paste while the soup was simmering for an extra kick. Awesome - I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States