Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Curried Butternut Squash with Basil and Baked Apple (Variation): I used a pint of pears I canned this summer, a sprinkle of ground cloves and used heavy cream instead of the half and half (I didn't have any). The soup was yummy, but didn't say WOW! ... until I garnished each bowl with fresh basil leaves and *baked apples. It added that extra eye appeal and gourmet taste I was looking for. *To make by "baked apples" I peeled and chopped up apple chunks and simmered them in a little water (covered). After they were soft, I added brown sugar and cinnamon to taste. It's basically a quick homemade version of applesauce. I don't mash is up because the apple chunks added great texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I love the results this recipe produces. I also love that it is a very flexible base from which to create variations. Personally, I prefer a very flavorful combination of butternut squash, Granny Smith apples, onions, and garlic. But I've also been quite happy with butternut squash and pumpkin. And I'm just as happy using olive oil and no cream as when using butter plus cream. Simply put, you can do just about anything you want with this recipe. Use squash and parsnips, squash and carrots, extra curry powder and cinnamon rather than the ginger, etc. Use this recipe as a starting base and use whatever ingredients you have in your fridge and whatever seasonings appeal to you at the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Sooo yummy!! I did a couple of things different. I added 2 grated carrots, and 1 sm apple to the onions, garlic and spices for saute. (I sauted the pears and apple at the same time as everything else.) I added Red curry paste (about 1 tablespoon) in addition to the curry powder and about 2 teaspoons fresh chopped cilantro. Before puree, I boiled and added 2 potatoes. After puree, I added one can coconut milk and about 1/4 cup of half and half and returned to stove to complete simmer. Yumm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Kid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Mom delicious. Followed the recipe exactly and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My mother-in-law made this for the open course at Christmas dinner. It was the best part!! We also had filet mignon if that tells you anything! I can’t wait to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
oh my $@#% this was amazing! i used one of those new knorr concentrated chicken stock packs w 4 cups water. my pears were not firm, but nearly overripe. i will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wow! This was great! I used apples instead of pears as thats what I had on hand, but oh so creamy for whats basically a veggie puree! It had a bit too much curry for the rest of my family but I would definately make it again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe is terrific. I made a double batch hoping for leftovers! Didn't happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was wonderful.I did not have half and half but used coconut milk instead. My husband loved it. Next time instead of pear I will use apples. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wonderful! This soup has terrific flavor. You could even leave off the half and half and still have a delicious soup. I used 2 Tbsp of butter rather than 3. Everyone loved it, and my grown son asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States