Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Sooo yummy!! I did a couple of things different. I added 2 grated carrots, and 1 sm apple to the onions, garlic and spices for saute. (I sauted the pears and apple at the same time as everything else.) I added Red curry paste (about 1 tablespoon) in addition to the curry powder and about 2 teaspoons fresh chopped cilantro. Before puree, I boiled and added 2 potatoes. After puree, I added one can coconut milk and about 1/4 cup of half and half and returned to stove to complete simmer. Yumm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Kid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Mom delicious. Followed the recipe exactly and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My mother-in-law made this for the open course at Christmas dinner. It was the best part!! We also had filet mignon if that tells you anything! I can’t wait to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
oh my $@#% this was amazing! i used one of those new knorr concentrated chicken stock packs w 4 cups water. my pears were not firm, but nearly overripe. i will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wow! This was great! I used apples instead of pears as thats what I had on hand, but oh so creamy for whats basically a veggie puree! It had a bit too much curry for the rest of my family but I would definately make it again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe is terrific. I made a double batch hoping for leftovers! Didn't happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was wonderful.I did not have half and half but used coconut milk instead. My husband loved it. Next time instead of pear I will use apples. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wonderful! This soup has terrific flavor. You could even leave off the half and half and still have a delicious soup. I used 2 Tbsp of butter rather than 3. Everyone loved it, and my grown son asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I've been making the same boring butternut squash soup for 3 years now and wanted to change it up. After reading the recipe and the reviews i thought the combination of flavours sounded exciting so I gave it a try. I followed the ingredients and instructions exactly minus the 1/2 cup of half and half, instead used 1/2 cup of coconut milk. It turned out ammmmaaaazing!!! My husband absolutely loved it! Said it was the best soup I have ever made! Today I made it again for the 2nd time this week and this time I added some shrimp. Soooo Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was incredible!!!! Made it for thanksgiving and everybody loved it! So worth the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States