Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The depth of flavor in this soup is insane!! I felt like I tasted something new with every bite. My only changes to accommodate what I had on hand... 1tsp dried ginger instead of fresh, used half chicken broth half beef broth, replaced one pear with an apple, pinch of cayenne. THANK YOU FOR THIS RIDICULOUSLY AWESOME RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Delicious. I made it as is and it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe is excellent!!! I'm following Dr. Jergens Clean program so I had to make only 2 modifications. I switched out the butter for coconut oil and I switched out the cream for coconut milk. This soup really blew me away. Its soooo good and super easy. Perfect for my to-go lunches. I highly suggest this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Has some good bones. I found the curry a little over-powering, and probably should have let my pears ripen a little more. As other people have said, you'll need to let your squash cook closer to an hour. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is fantastic....but then again, it has some of my favorite foods in it! I thought it would be a little time consuming, due to the blending, but it really wasn't bad. I enjoy kitchen time, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Yummy! Turned out soooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I followed the directions as written with the exception of adding skim milk instead of half & half. It was good, but I will continue to look elsewhere for that "over-the-top" butternut squash soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was so weird, I just had to try it. It was incredible. And I hate soup. We even put scallops in it, after trying it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Curried Butternut Squash with Basil and Baked Apple (Variation): I used a pint of pears I canned this summer, a sprinkle of ground cloves and used heavy cream instead of the half and half (I didn't have any). The soup was yummy, but didn't say WOW! ... until I garnished each bowl with fresh basil leaves and *baked apples. It added that extra eye appeal and gourmet taste I was looking for. *To make by "baked apples" I peeled and chopped up apple chunks and simmered them in a little water (covered). After they were soft, I added brown sugar and cinnamon to taste. It's basically a quick homemade version of applesauce. I don't mash is up because the apple chunks added great texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States