Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is a very delicious soup. I will be making it again. Thanks for the recipe. I substituted 4 cups of water with two veggie broth bouillon cubs in place of the chicken broth. Also the 30 minutes of cooking is not necessary. while you are sautéing the onions garlic and spice cook the pears with about 1/3 cup water on a low simmer for 5 minutes or until soft. Then add them to the pot. Next add the broth and squash. You can use a hand blender or pour it all in a glass blender and blend before you heat it all up. You do not need to cook just let it get to the desired temp and serve. the less you cook the soup the more nutritious and colorful it is. Also you can skip the half and half. It is just as good if not better without. Taste it before you add it and you'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Very easy. Loved the addition of the pears. I didn't have fresh ginger, just used spice. Still very delicious I will make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Very good. Used 3/4 tsp of dried ginger in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Left out half and half and added 3 oz goat cheese instead - amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This was excellent. I took a previous review and roasted everything together for about 45min, then sautéed in olive oil and added curry, salt, and vegetable broth verses chicken. I didn't use any half and half because I didn't want any dairy components. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe I have made again and again. I omit the half and half but serve the soup with a small dollop of sour cream. I have made this with and without pears and both are equally good. I've also previously used apples instead of pears. This always gets rave reviews in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This soup was fine. My family ate it, but we had lots left over and nobody was enthusiastic about it. I won't make it again because there are some other really fantastic butternut squash soup recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was the hit of my Thanksgiving get together! I used olive oil instead of butter and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe was wonderful! I also added some cinnamon to balance the spices. I would change nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Yum! To make it easier, use frozen cubed butternut squash and a stick blender in the pot. Also I didn't peel the pears so I didn't lose the nutrients and fiber in the skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States