Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I love this soup. Be ready for it to stink up your house. The curry smell lingers. Also, if you are living Paleo or Whole 30 it fits with the diet if you skip the half and half (you could sub coconut milk but it's not needed) and replace the butter with ghee or olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I was so scared, as I am often not a big fan of curry, but this soup was great! Wonderful comfort food! Creamy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very tasty!!! I didn't add the half and half as the flavor was so rich already and I tend to be dairy sensitive. Next time I will experiment with almond and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
We got one of the 10 pound beauties so I made this last week and this week. Last week I froze two quarts of soup and this week it was all gone. Last week I adhered exactly this week I added one-half pound of carrots. I only had two small pears so threw in a can and this recipe is a keeper. Makes squash a favorite in my house. Note: used the immersion blender following other reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TangentTom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Phenomenal!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
My whole family loved it. I modified the recipe by first cooking chucks of the butternut squash in butter until brown and then roasting for 15minutes to speed up the cook time. I didn't have pears so I used green apples instead. To finish off, I replaced half-n-half with unsweetened coconut milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Excellent! I roasted the squash for 1 hour. Followed the recipe except I did not add the roasted squash in with the pears because I thought the squash would get over done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely, but added 1/2 of a large sweet potato---just because I had one. I roasted it with the squash and proceeded as suggested with the combined vegetables. I loved the soup! It's delicious and beautiful. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Absolutely loved this soup and got raves from everyone who tried it. I also used coconut milk and drizzled it with a bit of hazelnut oil to finish. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Made this exactly as directed and my husband and I thought it was great. Have made it several times since. As a garnish at serving, we put in pealed apple pieces tossed in cinnamon, which we think really makes the dish perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States