Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I loved this recipe. I roasted everything together (squash, onion, pears, garlic, and fresh ginger) - I then made a roux and added the chicken broth and curry and brought it to a boil and then added the roasted vegetables. Once it came to a boil I used my immersion blender to puree it and added a litle red pepper. I did not add the half and half. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Baking the squash took 1 hour; I didn't have unsalted butter so used regular butter; I added black & red pepper; I omitted the half & half; I used vegetarian chicken broth and I'm here to tell you, this soup was AWESOME!! We will be making this one again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
A combination of flavors so deliciously right it makes me crazy to think I've lived this long without experiencing it before now. Better late than never. Thank you for this beautiful, beautiful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Excellent! This is an adaptable recipe. Along with the squash, I roasted 2 Anjou pears and some parsnips that I needed to use up. Otherwise completed the recipe as written. My family and guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I've been making the same soup for a while now. Except i don't use pears. I use a can of coconut milk...It's heaven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very Very delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I used home made stock that had no salt in it, so I increased the salt to 3 tsp.. Also, I had no ripe pears, so I used two medium Cortland apples. After these small changes, the finished product was really good. I did take the liberty of adding some fresh nutmeg, about 1/2 tsp, also ground cinnamon, about a tablespoon. These additions took this 5 star recipe and made it 6 stars. My guests raved about it for days! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Delish! Believe it or not, my local grocer didn't have any pears in stock today. (He said they are out of season) Anyway, used the canned version and nobody could tell the difference! SO delicious! Even my toddler was a fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIADAMIANI
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Awesome recipe. Works with a variety of root vegetables/squashes/etc. We made it into a Butternut Parsnip and Rutabega Soup and got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was delicious! Made as written except used dried ginger (1 tsp). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made this for an office luncheon.....not a drop left. I used bottled ginger and mixed apple and pear and it all came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peaceandmagic
Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States