Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
We make a Paleo version of this with coconut oil or ghee instead of butter and then we leave out the half and half. It is superb and a go to soup for home or gatherings. When I have time, I get extra pears and make pearsauce (like applesauce) and then garnish the soup with a dollop of the pearsauce (much chunkier than applesauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Sanger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Made a double batch of this soup. Very easy and omg delicious. I skipped the cream but otherwise stuck to recipe. Rather than use the blender I used an imersion blender. Easier and less mess. I had a large squash from our garden to use but will buy more as I loved this soup. So healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Great recipe. I roast the squash whole on foil directly on the oven rack. Turn over half way during cooking. Remove from oven. Let squash cool some, cut off top then slice lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. Made this with half curry powder and half gram masala. Used 1T.each ginger and garlic, minced. Also coconut milk instead of half and half. This is one to put on the rotation. YUM! Thanks..... blancdeblanc for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I love this soup. Be ready for it to stink up your house. The curry smell lingers. Also, if you are living Paleo or Whole 30 it fits with the diet if you skip the half and half (you could sub coconut milk but it's not needed) and replace the butter with ghee or olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I was so scared, as I am often not a big fan of curry, but this soup was great! Wonderful comfort food! Creamy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very tasty!!! I didn't add the half and half as the flavor was so rich already and I tend to be dairy sensitive. Next time I will experiment with almond and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
We got one of the 10 pound beauties so I made this last week and this week. Last week I froze two quarts of soup and this week it was all gone. Last week I adhered exactly this week I added one-half pound of carrots. I only had two small pears so threw in a can and this recipe is a keeper. Makes squash a favorite in my house. Note: used the immersion blender following other reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TangentTom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Phenomenal!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
My whole family loved it. I modified the recipe by first cooking chucks of the butternut squash in butter until brown and then roasting for 15minutes to speed up the cook time. I didn't have pears so I used green apples instead. To finish off, I replaced half-n-half with unsweetened coconut milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Excellent! I roasted the squash for 1 hour. Followed the recipe except I did not add the roasted squash in with the pears because I thought the squash would get over done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States