Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very tasty stuff! I made it exactly as intended the first time and enjoyed it greatly. The second time I roasted the garlic and pears alongside the squash (which definitely takes more like 90 mins to roast) and substituted a half can of light coconut milk for the cream. I threw in a bit of cayenne too. YUM, and my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snackalie
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great recipe. I improvised as follows: used butternut squash, plus and acorn squash and a yam. I also added ground black pepper and a dash of cayenne to the recommended mix of fresh ginger and garlic. And instead of pears, I used a wedge of honeydew melon (because it was what I had on hand)- terrific. Rather than adding half-and-half to the puree, I put a dollop of sour cream on top before serving and smattered that with cinnamon toasted squash seeds that I'd reserved from the acorn and butternut squash (rather than throwing them out, toss with a tablespoon or two of sesame or olive oil, some sea salt, and a little cinnamon and/or maple syrup to taste and put in a 275 degree oven until toasty- easy!). The results were delish! Will definitely make again. P.S. If you have an immersion blender, is so much easier than transfering the soup to a blender. Hooray for the Cuisnart Smart Stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snackalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
My sister's BF is a classically trained chef, and even though he's the most unpretentious, generous person on earth, it's a little daunting to cook for him, given his qualifications. I mean, how can you blow away a classically trained chef?? Last night I made this soup with two changes: I had no pears, so I used apples. I'm also a dairy goat farmer, and I used goat's milk instead of half and half. He ate two and a half bowls and pronounced it the best butternut soup he'd ever eaten. I had to agree with him: it's the perfect blend of savory and sweet, and was delicious with cornbread. An excellent fall night supper. Recommended without reservation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
What a great recipe. Everybody loved it. I wasn't sure what curry powder to use as there are various different types available. I ended up using Red Curry Powder and it turned out great. It was on the spicy side so if you prefer it milder, you might want to add a little less. For our family it was great though. I did not add the two teaspoons of salt as the chicken broth already has salt in it. The taste was great without it. Will definitely make this soup again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Delicious soup! The squash was well complimented with the curry, ginger and pear. I eliminated the half and half and increased the amount of squash to 3.5 lbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My husband only gave it 3 stars. It was pretty good, but it wasn't amazing. Especially not well over 2 hours just making it let alone cleaning up after it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Loved this soup! So easy to prepare, and delicious! I used canned pears, because that was all I had on hand, and they worked fine. Will be making this one over and over!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Perfect as is! Don't let the pears scare you away...they add just the right amount of sweetness. And the curry is yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
excellent .just the right mix of everything ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I added more garlic, ginger and onion than called for - great kick. Otherwise, followed the recipe closely... Used an immersion blender to purée, which saved some cleanup time, and made a wonderfully textured soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States