Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This soup, for some people, is really good like it is. For ME, it was better when I toned down the heat from the curry with about a cup of unsweetened applesauce, and added some just a tad of sweetness with a cup or so of apple cider. (I had about 2 1/2-3 pounds of squash, so the cider didn't make it runny.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I thought this was really good and the curry was just right and not overpowering. I would definitely make it again just as written, no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Followed this recipe to the letter; I'm sorry. Every one of the members of my family asked if we were having baby food for dinner. My older daughters tried valiantly to eat it, by my four-year-old candidly said it was the worst flavor ever. You might chalk that up to the finicky palates of children, but I am a lover of Thai and Indian foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Really great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alma Gunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Made this recipe again last night. I love it everytime. I again half a block of cream cheese at the end instead of half and half. It was just as good. Except if I add cream cheese next time I will run it through the blender because it took forever to melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is probably the best butternut squash soup I've ever tasted. I've made it like 3 times now, and the last time I made I didn't have any half and half so I put in an entire can of coconut cream. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swedishjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Easy and delicious. I followed the recipe with only a small alteration of using 5% cream rather then half and half. I actually roasted the butternut squash days before and did not make it then due to time constraints. Turned out delicious...my husband could not get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I love this yummy full of flavor soup. Work well with both fresh or canned pears and I used fat-free sour cream instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I make this a couple times a year! Even my 13 year old likes it. I leave out the pears, and use milk instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! It is smooth and creamy and wonderful!!! I make it exactly as in the recipe except I eliminate the squash and use all pears. It makes a wonderfully sweet and delicious soup!! I pair it with toated stips of tortilla. MMMM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States