Curried Butternut Squash and Apple Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made as directed, with only one exchange: I didn't have curry sauce, so I used 4 oz of curry paste. TL;DR: cut recipe in 1/2 for 8 servings. Use coconut milk - not coconut cream, add Italian sausage for meat eaters. First, this makes a HUGE VAT OF SOUP. My 10 qt stock pot was completely full. This is not 8 servings of soup. It is easily 16 to 20 servings. Second: I'm not sure what the OP was meaning, coconut cream or coconut milk. I used actual coconut cream. As another posted, coconut is very sweet, coconut cream is intensely sweet. (it's not necessarily added sugar, it's naturally sweet) So 2 jars of coconut cream makes for a very sweet soup. I like it, just be aware. Also, coconut cream, in temperatures of less than 80°F, is rock solid. Melt it in a hot water bath before adding to your soup or you will never get it out of your jar. 2 jars was way too much. Use one. This turned into a very very thick soup with 2 jars of coconut cream. Since the directions are "pour coconut cream into the soup" I think the OP means coconut MILK. Third: if you are in a mixed household, saute up some Italian sausage to mix into the soup for the meat eaters. It pairs beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I'm going to base this on what this SHOULD have tasted like. I'm posting this in case anyone else is as ignorant as I. Cream of coconut comes in a version which apparently has loads of sugar added. Didn't realize until I tasted this soup which was SO over sweet. Hugely disappointed. Will try again another day! Be sure to use coconut milk. Or if you can find cream of coconut be sure to read the label.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Lovely vegan recipe, took 2h, not 3h - I left the squash in the oven a little longer, as suggested in the tip, so the soup was ready to blend pretty soon. Used trader joe's spicy curry sauce and just one can of tj's light coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Such a wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I had my doubts about this recipe initially, but I was pleasantly surprised at how good it turned out! And I'm not vegetarian. I made a couple of changes... I used homemade chicken stock instead of vegetable stock, and about a Tbs. of homemade curry powder instead of curry sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Delicious! I had almost everything on hand without having to make a trip to the grocery store. The only thin I changed was that I used curry paste. I did not have curry sauce. Made this for my two vegetarian daughters. I am sure they are going to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HEXTHECAT
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this soup for my family, and it was outstanding. Not only did it have complex flavor but made the house smell wonderful! I have been searching for a soup such as this for quite a while. I did make some modifications, simply because I didn't have the ingredients on hand. I'll try to make it correctly the next time around. The modifications I made included: using cubed organic butternut squash from Costco (still browned a bit in oven), a regular yellow onion and a couple shallots instead of the "sweet" onions, Suki's curry sauce was used for the curry along with a bit of water, Gala instead of Granny Smith's, and dried cilantro instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Made it for my craft group twice because it was wonderful!!! Everyone liked it. Especially those that don't do dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States