Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This recipe is going in my arsenal of great recipes! I only used half the amount of cayenne pepper(which was just enough to add some heat, but mellow enough for people that can't handle spicy). I also used agave instead of honey, and added some extra cinnamon and nutmeg. This soup is amazingly delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and added a dollop of light sour cream and a sprinkle of slivered almonds on top. It was very rich, velvety and satisfying. I would give four and a half stars if I could, as I felt the spice was a little too overpowering. Next time I will cut the curry and cumin amounts in half, and omit the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I've now had two requests to MAKE THIS AGAIN from my young adult children. Tonight we are serving it with Naan bread. Simple, flavorful, and with a terrific flavor. Love it. I've made it....just as written, sometimes adding sour cream at the end...sometimes not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Rich and comforting, this soup was a hit in my family. The "heat" from the cayenne pepper is perfect and makes the flavor interesting, but not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Delicious! There is a kick to it, so you can cut down the red pepper. BUT it is so creamy and yummy. I used Greek yogurt as I forgot to get the half and half. Healthier and just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Perfection! This is the most amazing butternut squash soup I've ever tasted. It has the perfect balance of spiciness and sweetness. Make it today and don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I added an apple when I put the squash in to simmer. Also, I diced up some leftover turkey before serving and it was super delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenny Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I did change things a bit - approximately doubled the amount of squash and baked the whole squash at 400F for 1 hour. Peeled, seeded and then cubed. Added extra cayenne and ginger powder. Also omitted the honey, half and half, and sour cream. Even my husband, who generally hates butternut squash soup, loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
My preschooler loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was soooo good. We served this with coconut almond naan bread and garlic naan. It was amazing! This would also be a great sauce over chicken and rice, possibly with cilantro and some other veg. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States