Curried Beef a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Definitely added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Excellent. The tomato paste/water didn't make much sense to me, so I just used a small can of tomato sauce instead, and I think this made it more saucy than it would have been, others said it was a bit dry. It is pretty spicy as written, but that is as easy as adjusting the curry powder. I am a fan of mustard/pepper/horseradish type of spicy, and an adjustment to the black pepper:curry ratio will dial this in perfectly. A great starting recipe to adjust to your specific tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Pretty good flavour. The one downside was that there wasn't much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I found the taste combo too strange on this one! Apples/raisins too sweet for my taste. Good idea though, would be a good way to get children to eat curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I was in a real bind because I had stew beef thawed out and no time to make a beef stew or soup (which require a lot of cook time to come out tender and flavorful). This was well received by my family. We would definitely have it again. While I tried to stay with the original ingredients and measurements the first time, I would definitely add some more spice next time. I also cut my meat and apples into much smaller cubes. In my humble opinion and that of my children and husband, I would add more salt, more curry, probably some garlic, more of the tomato paste/water combination (to allow for more gravy), and I would add some medium hot sauce, such as red hot (medium heat level according to the bottle). This was very good and I am so glad that Kitchen Geisha shared it with the allrecipes communities. I do not know what I would have had for dinner if not for this website and my family really liked it (which, to be quite honest, surprised me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
With a few changes to suit my family this was a big hit. I left out the celery and substituted coconut milk for the water. I also added a tsp of arrowroot powder to thicken the broth. We ate it over mashed sweet potatoes instead of rice. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Really Good! I used Applesause instead of Apples (my kids won't eat apples so I snuck it past them) and Cranberries instead of Raisins (because I didn't have any left after making cookies). We are not big Curry fans. This is a great Curry recipes for those who don't want their food too "curry tasting" but it was not BLAND! I'd give a 4.5 but I don't have that option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I just finished eating this! REALLY TASTY! I did read the other reviews and wanted it spicy, so I added more curry powder and some cayenne pepper. I sauteed the onions and added the apple and raisins near the end. I love the apple/raisin sweetness with the spicy curry. I omitted the celery. ALSO - I seasoned my rice with salt, curry, cayenne and margarine. So the complete meal had a real kick! Make sure you cover the beef while it's simmering so it will cook all the way through. I'm going in for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Lee-Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
yummy but not so easy on the tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inChrist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I should have been more patient with this one, as I added extra curry (almost doubled) early on and used cayenne pepper as suggested by other reviewers. Should have considered the fact that the taste would emerge later on... Super simple recipe, a quick fix for a week meal. I will likely do it again, and add some coco milk in towards the end and use pork or lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States