Curried Banana Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good stuff! I used agave nectar instead of honey, chives instead of shallots (what I had on hand), and added frozen green peas (for veggie power) and chopped cashews (for texture). I really didn't love it quite like 5 stars, but since I made changes on the first try, I can't down-rate a recipe that I didn't follow. I added it to Costco rotisserie chicken that I cut up, and simmered together for 30 mins on low. Then laddled over basmati rice. In the future I will add add either red pepper or Jalepeno to give it some kick. The family enjoyed the dish very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Only missing a star because I believe the amounts of garlic and curry power are half what they should be PS use water instead of 'low sodium chicken broth' its better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Shapiro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was actually very good! we tripled the recipe for 3 people and had leftover sauce. We also added some cayenne for kick, and I'm glad we did because it was pretty sweet before. But the finished taste was great. We served with sauteed veggies (green beans, yellow bell and eggplant) and a white fish steak. This was verrrry tasty .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antwerpianer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Tasty! I served this over red rice and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent Sauce with Chicken, I shredded the chicken and would have liked it better in chunks. Also added some sugar snap peas and served over rice. My 5 year old ate it but not the most willingly. My husband liked it over rice, but I preferred mine solo and added some crushed red pepper to mine for some zing. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
The end product was delicious, but the serving size was way off. There wasn't even quite enough to feed three of us. Also, a whole bunch of it burned to the bottom of the skillet for some reason and refuses to come off no matter how long I soak it. That might be because my skillet is glass and doesn't distribute heat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
So different I LOVED it!!! Next time I wil sub coconut milk for broth and see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is delicious, thank you! I wasn't sure if I should be using plantains or regular bananas so I went with what I had....regular bananas. We like to grill/broil whatever veggies we have on hand and eat them over rice. Last night is was basmati rice. We put this sauce over it all and it was a huge hit. My 4-year old loved it as well. I sprinkled cayenne pepper over mine to add some heat. I loved the balance of tartness from the rice wine vinegar and sweetness from the bananas and honey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is very good...served it with chicken...wow my taste buds came to life with this combination of flavours...I would definitely recomend it...easy to prepare...I prepared during the day and then served with the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States