Curried Apple and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
I usually don't like soup, but I really like this one. It's woderful of a light spring or summer meal. I would recommend making some sort of bread with it to make it a little more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
WOW - I LOVE THIS SOUP! With a few small modifications: I used 2 large leeks (white & green parts), 3 medium potatoes, and substituted one cup table cream in place of one cup chicken broth. I also added a little extra curry (personal taste) for more flavour. Served it with a salad and got amazing kudos!! Try replacing potatoes with butternut squash - just as fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Though I'm not usually one for sour things, this soup is really complex and, when paired with a nice bottle of sweet apple wine, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is really good! I probably used more curry than called for, and added a little coriander and red pepper flakes (I like spicy soups!). kept the apple peels on (you can't tell after you blend it all together anyway), and left out the potatoes to make it more diet-friendly...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Love it - easy, super-healthy, and filling. Followed the recipe exactly and it was just perfect. The apple flavor doesn't come through, but that's not a problem, it adds a nice texture to the soup and that's what the most important. I used a little more potato than it called for, to make it thicker. Thanks for the recipe! I will make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. The store had no leeks and so, despite being Welsh, I used broccoli and it was splendid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This soup turned out awesome! I used a small butternut squash and two sweet potatoes in place of the regular potatoes and I added extra curry powder and some red pepper flakes to give it more of a kick. After I blended it, I added (already cooked) Trader Joe's Brown Rice Medley to make it a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_O

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This soup was great!! I followed the recipe to the letter except I used cream cheese instead of yogurt. While cooking, adding 3 cups of vegetable broth didn't cover the leeks & veggies, and I was worried that I'd have to add some water -- but I threw the top on and kept checking it and it cooked down perfectly. My neighbor says this one is worth 6 stars. :) I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
WOW! Can I give this recipe 10 stars?? I had my doubts going in that it would end up tasting funky, but the combination of flavors was wonderful and I didn't even have to add any salt at the end b/c it was so flavorful. I used two large leeks (about 1.5 lbs) with both the green and white parts, 2 lunchbox sized Granny Smith apples (0.75 lbs), double the amount of potatoes (1.5 cups), the full 2 tsp of curry powder, and 3 cups of chicken broth. I substituted olive oil for margarine. After simmering for 30 minutes, I was tempted to leave the soup whole and un-pureed because I really liked the texture of the softened leeks, but the puree-ing actually blended the flavors together very nicely. Adding the yogurt was a nice touch of sourness and temperature difference with the warm soup. I would absolutely make this recipe again. I think it would be very impressive to serve to guests as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Really light-tasting and very flavorful!!! I used olive oil instead of margarine, 3 apples instead of 2, and heavy cream instead of yogurt. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States