Curried Apple and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
WOW - I LOVE THIS SOUP! With a few small modifications: I used 2 large leeks (white & green parts), 3 medium potatoes, and substituted one cup table cream in place of one cup chicken broth. I also added a little extra curry (personal taste) for more flavour. Served it with a salad and got amazing kudos!! Try replacing potatoes with butternut squash - just as fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Very tasty and hearty. A bowl of this and a hunk of bread and you have a delightfully flavorful and hearty meal. Rather than tasting the combined flavors it is more like tasting the apple, leek and curry all at the same time...very neat! You will need to experiment with the size of the 2 apples and 3 leeks...the balance of flavors is easily swayed based on not only the quantity but also the strength of the leek and the ripeness of the apple. There is a lot of leeway before you go too far one way or the other, though: don't let it worry you but make a note if you think it goes too far one way or the other when you make it the first time. Overall quite easy, very tasty and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is an easy and fine recipe. Having said that, some folks found that it tasted like apple compote. I didn't... I thought it had a three tiered flavor, starting with apple, having leek in the middle and curry as a pleasant aftertaste. You could still taste the apples rawness with the suggested times, I'd probably cook them slightly longer next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCALPENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
A tasty, easy soup. I'd stick with non-fat yogurt for the garnish - lowfat was too thick and ended up clumpy. A bit more apple and/or more potato would be nice to balance the leeks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very tasty! The apple flavour really comes through to make this a very delicious soup. (The only thing I changed was to leave the peel on the apples: the soup was going to be pureed anyway and I had gotten fed up with peeling and chopping.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim-S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This soup turned out awesome! I used a small butternut squash and two sweet potatoes in place of the regular potatoes and I added extra curry powder and some red pepper flakes to give it more of a kick. After I blended it, I added (already cooked) Trader Joe's Brown Rice Medley to make it a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_O

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Really good recipe. I took a journey with my hubby in making this recipe and we both thought it was rather good. The pungent smell of the aromatics of curry was to my liking. My son...wasn't a fan, but my girls were. The yogurt adds just a bit of tartness and I orginally didn't season with salt or pepper when I first tried it. I could eat this with or with out the yogurt. Having said that, when I dashed some pepper into the soup, it added a bit of a bite, I did not add or my batch did not need any salt because we could taste the flavor of the salt from the vegetable broth. I followed threw this recipe to a T. One thing if I could go back and change would be to add more vegetables, maybe an additional potato and leek to help bind some of the soup together. When it sits, the liquid separates from the actual apple/leek mixture. Adding the yogurt and combining in individual bowls does elminate that issue but I could get this with or with out the yogurt. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Delicious and easy! I made this in my crockpot, turning it on low for 8 hours. I only used about half as much potatoes as it called for and added carrots. I didnt blend it afterwards -- I think it was just as good chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I had to try this soup because it sounded so interesting... but I didn't think I would like it as much as I did! The flavors blended together gave a nice taste, a bit sweet, a bit tangy and a bit spicy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is really good! I probably used more curry than called for, and added a little coriander and red pepper flakes (I like spicy soups!). kept the apple peels on (you can't tell after you blend it all together anyway), and left out the potatoes to make it more diet-friendly...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States