Curried Apple and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
A tasty, easy soup. I'd stick with non-fat yogurt for the garnish - lowfat was too thick and ended up clumpy. A bit more apple and/or more potato would be nice to balance the leeks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Very tasty and hearty. A bowl of this and a hunk of bread and you have a delightfully flavorful and hearty meal. Rather than tasting the combined flavors it is more like tasting the apple, leek and curry all at the same time...very neat! You will need to experiment with the size of the 2 apples and 3 leeks...the balance of flavors is easily swayed based on not only the quantity but also the strength of the leek and the ripeness of the apple. There is a lot of leeway before you go too far one way or the other, though: don't let it worry you but make a note if you think it goes too far one way or the other when you make it the first time. Overall quite easy, very tasty and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
I usually don't like soup, but I really like this one. It's woderful of a light spring or summer meal. I would recommend making some sort of bread with it to make it a little more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
WOW - I LOVE THIS SOUP! With a few small modifications: I used 2 large leeks (white & green parts), 3 medium potatoes, and substituted one cup table cream in place of one cup chicken broth. I also added a little extra curry (personal taste) for more flavour. Served it with a salad and got amazing kudos!! Try replacing potatoes with butternut squash - just as fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Though I'm not usually one for sour things, this soup is really complex and, when paired with a nice bottle of sweet apple wine, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This soup was just okay for me. After the curry, I couldn't taste the apples at all and could barely taste the leeks. If I made it again I'd cut the curry back to 1 teaspoon, add more apples, and substitute sweet onions for the leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This is the first time that I have tried making leek.But I dont see apple and curry powder go together well.Its ahealthy soup, made some changes added 1 1/2 cups of broth and didnot puree it in blender.there were plenty of chunks of leeks /potato/but I could hardly taste apple. So, next time I wont add apples .May be adding spinach and some tomatoes will work.I had mine served with plain cooked rice.thanks for a healthy soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is an easy and fine recipe. Having said that, some folks found that it tasted like apple compote. I didn't... I thought it had a three tiered flavor, starting with apple, having leek in the middle and curry as a pleasant aftertaste. You could still taste the apples rawness with the suggested times, I'd probably cook them slightly longer next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCALPENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Very good flavor and texture. I'd use a little less curry next time. The apple flavor definitely came through, but was a little overpowered by the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used all the ingredients as specified (except I used Free-range Organic Chicken Broth), chopped in my VitaMix before cooking then pureed after cooking. This may seem like a lot of extra effort ~ It was worth it! All the ingredients blended very nicely together. Nothing over powering. Nice texture and flavor. We used our dollop of plain yogurt and served with fresh homemade rustic biscuits (daughter's recipe) and ice tea. Simple meal, very filling and will have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States