Curried Apple and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Easy to make. We added an extra apple which tasted good. Yogurt was really good in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
we are having a cookie exchange, plus each person is bringing a crock of soup. I thought that I would try this one. Made a pot of this and it was great. My sister and her daughter came to try it and also gave it 5 stars. I added about 1 Cup of Swanson Chicken broth, and loved the results. That was the only change I made. I will make this for the soup exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was delicious!!! I ended up using Gala apples and greek yogurt instead of regular, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Delicious and easy! I made this in my crockpot, turning it on low for 8 hours. I only used about half as much potatoes as it called for and added carrots. I didnt blend it afterwards -- I think it was just as good chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
After following the recipe to a tee, I did not care for this. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chania Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chania, Crete, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This soup was much acidic for me. I wouldn't try this combination again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I had to try this soup because it sounded so interesting... but I didn't think I would like it as much as I did! The flavors blended together gave a nice taste, a bit sweet, a bit tangy and a bit spicy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Tasty, but a little spicy for me. Yogurt helps alot. I will cut the curry some next time and add another apple as I didn't really get the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Really light-tasting and very flavorful!!! I used olive oil instead of margarine, 3 apples instead of 2, and heavy cream instead of yogurt. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
WOW! Can I give this recipe 10 stars?? I had my doubts going in that it would end up tasting funky, but the combination of flavors was wonderful and I didn't even have to add any salt at the end b/c it was so flavorful. I used two large leeks (about 1.5 lbs) with both the green and white parts, 2 lunchbox sized Granny Smith apples (0.75 lbs), double the amount of potatoes (1.5 cups), the full 2 tsp of curry powder, and 3 cups of chicken broth. I substituted olive oil for margarine. After simmering for 30 minutes, I was tempted to leave the soup whole and un-pureed because I really liked the texture of the softened leeks, but the puree-ing actually blended the flavors together very nicely. Adding the yogurt was a nice touch of sourness and temperature difference with the warm soup. I would absolutely make this recipe again. I think it would be very impressive to serve to guests as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States