Curried Apple and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Really good recipe. I took a journey with my hubby in making this recipe and we both thought it was rather good. The pungent smell of the aromatics of curry was to my liking. My son...wasn't a fan, but my girls were. The yogurt adds just a bit of tartness and I orginally didn't season with salt or pepper when I first tried it. I could eat this with or with out the yogurt. Having said that, when I dashed some pepper into the soup, it added a bit of a bite, I did not add or my batch did not need any salt because we could taste the flavor of the salt from the vegetable broth. I followed threw this recipe to a T. One thing if I could go back and change would be to add more vegetables, maybe an additional potato and leek to help bind some of the soup together. When it sits, the liquid separates from the actual apple/leek mixture. Adding the yogurt and combining in individual bowls does elminate that issue but I could get this with or with out the yogurt. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Easy to make. We added an extra apple which tasted good. Yogurt was really good in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
we are having a cookie exchange, plus each person is bringing a crock of soup. I thought that I would try this one. Made a pot of this and it was great. My sister and her daughter came to try it and also gave it 5 stars. I added about 1 Cup of Swanson Chicken broth, and loved the results. That was the only change I made. I will make this for the soup exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was delicious!!! I ended up using Gala apples and greek yogurt instead of regular, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Delicious and easy! I made this in my crockpot, turning it on low for 8 hours. I only used about half as much potatoes as it called for and added carrots. I didnt blend it afterwards -- I think it was just as good chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
After following the recipe to a tee, I did not care for this. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chania Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chania, Crete, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This soup was much acidic for me. I wouldn't try this combination again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I had to try this soup because it sounded so interesting... but I didn't think I would like it as much as I did! The flavors blended together gave a nice taste, a bit sweet, a bit tangy and a bit spicy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Tasty, but a little spicy for me. Yogurt helps alot. I will cut the curry some next time and add another apple as I didn't really get the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Really light-tasting and very flavorful!!! I used olive oil instead of margarine, 3 apples instead of 2, and heavy cream instead of yogurt. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States