Curried Apple and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Easy to make. We added an extra apple which tasted good. Yogurt was really good in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
we are having a cookie exchange, plus each person is bringing a crock of soup. I thought that I would try this one. Made a pot of this and it was great. My sister and her daughter came to try it and also gave it 5 stars. I added about 1 Cup of Swanson Chicken broth, and loved the results. That was the only change I made. I will make this for the soup exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was delicious!!! I ended up using Gala apples and greek yogurt instead of regular, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Delicious and easy! I made this in my crockpot, turning it on low for 8 hours. I only used about half as much potatoes as it called for and added carrots. I didnt blend it afterwards -- I think it was just as good chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
After following the recipe to a tee, I did not care for this. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chania Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chania, Crete, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This soup was much acidic for me. I wouldn't try this combination again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I had to try this soup because it sounded so interesting... but I didn't think I would like it as much as I did! The flavors blended together gave a nice taste, a bit sweet, a bit tangy and a bit spicy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Tasty, but a little spicy for me. Yogurt helps alot. I will cut the curry some next time and add another apple as I didn't really get the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Really light-tasting and very flavorful!!! I used olive oil instead of margarine, 3 apples instead of 2, and heavy cream instead of yogurt. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
WOW! Can I give this recipe 10 stars?? I had my doubts going in that it would end up tasting funky, but the combination of flavors was wonderful and I didn't even have to add any salt at the end b/c it was so flavorful. I used two large leeks (about 1.5 lbs) with both the green and white parts, 2 lunchbox sized Granny Smith apples (0.75 lbs), double the amount of potatoes (1.5 cups), the full 2 tsp of curry powder, and 3 cups of chicken broth. I substituted olive oil for margarine. After simmering for 30 minutes, I was tempted to leave the soup whole and un-pureed because I really liked the texture of the softened leeks, but the puree-ing actually blended the flavors together very nicely. Adding the yogurt was a nice touch of sourness and temperature difference with the warm soup. I would absolutely make this recipe again. I think it would be very impressive to serve to guests as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States