Curried Apple and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Fantastic. Really enjoyed it. A keeper. Only had one apple and one leek but was great. Proportion was still good, not too appley at all and was perfect for 2 people. Only regret is not buying some bread to dunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I tried the squash instead of potato. I am not sure I would do that again. I had to much apple compared to leek. I am going to try again and make changes and see what I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
5 stars for nutrition! I used coconut oil in place of butter, half amount was sufficient. We sprinkle lots of red pepper flakes on our own bowls. If you omit the yogurt this is a good vegan recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
My apples were really big so maybe that was the problem. The soup came out too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious, but we did make modifications which I note here only for my own reminder next time: only 1 fairly large apple, an onion instead of leeks, and about 2 1/2 cups of frozen hashbrowns. We didn't have yogurt to do on the top and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Oh, my, this was good! It was spicy and tangy with a slight crunch from the leeks, and it turned out a pretty light green color. I followed some of the reviewers' suggestions. I used olive oil instead of margarine and increased most of the ingredients: 3 medium potatoes, 4 small Granny Smiths, 5c broth, extra curry powder (I used my own homemade version). I did not bother to peel the apples, and the peel wasn't noticeable in the soup, unless it contributed to the green color. I used the tops of the leeks along with some other vegetable ends to make the broth ahead of time. My soup was so delicious my husband and I each had two big bowls full! I will just have to make more. Thanks so much for a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
onions work as well as leeks, although not as subtle a flavor as leeks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Awesome recipe - enjoyed it immensely. The only change I made was to use extra hot curry powder as we like it hot here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This soup was so easy to make! And fast too! It's really delicious, I didn't follow the measurements exactly (I'm not a fan of measuring) except for the curry because I have never cooked with it until this recipe. I used all the ingredients and cooked for the recommended times. As another reviewer said, I was reluctant to blend it because I like chunky soups, but I went ahead and blended it and what a difference! This is a MUST do step, it completely changes the recipe. I didn't have any yogurt so I served it with a little shredded Parmesan cheese. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very tasty! The apple flavour really comes through to make this a very delicious soup. (The only thing I changed was to leave the peel on the apples: the soup was going to be pureed anyway and I had gotten fed up with peeling and chopping.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim-S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States