Curried Apple and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I tried the squash instead of potato. I am not sure I would do that again. I had to much apple compared to leek. I am going to try again and make changes and see what I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
5 stars for nutrition! I used coconut oil in place of butter, half amount was sufficient. We sprinkle lots of red pepper flakes on our own bowls. If you omit the yogurt this is a good vegan recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
My apples were really big so maybe that was the problem. The soup came out too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious, but we did make modifications which I note here only for my own reminder next time: only 1 fairly large apple, an onion instead of leeks, and about 2 1/2 cups of frozen hashbrowns. We didn't have yogurt to do on the top and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Oh, my, this was good! It was spicy and tangy with a slight crunch from the leeks, and it turned out a pretty light green color. I followed some of the reviewers' suggestions. I used olive oil instead of margarine and increased most of the ingredients: 3 medium potatoes, 4 small Granny Smiths, 5c broth, extra curry powder (I used my own homemade version). I did not bother to peel the apples, and the peel wasn't noticeable in the soup, unless it contributed to the green color. I used the tops of the leeks along with some other vegetable ends to make the broth ahead of time. My soup was so delicious my husband and I each had two big bowls full! I will just have to make more. Thanks so much for a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
onions work as well as leeks, although not as subtle a flavor as leeks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Awesome recipe - enjoyed it immensely. The only change I made was to use extra hot curry powder as we like it hot here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This soup was so easy to make! And fast too! It's really delicious, I didn't follow the measurements exactly (I'm not a fan of measuring) except for the curry because I have never cooked with it until this recipe. I used all the ingredients and cooked for the recommended times. As another reviewer said, I was reluctant to blend it because I like chunky soups, but I went ahead and blended it and what a difference! This is a MUST do step, it completely changes the recipe. I didn't have any yogurt so I served it with a little shredded Parmesan cheese. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very tasty! The apple flavour really comes through to make this a very delicious soup. (The only thing I changed was to leave the peel on the apples: the soup was going to be pureed anyway and I had gotten fed up with peeling and chopping.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim-S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Really good recipe. I took a journey with my hubby in making this recipe and we both thought it was rather good. The pungent smell of the aromatics of curry was to my liking. My son...wasn't a fan, but my girls were. The yogurt adds just a bit of tartness and I orginally didn't season with salt or pepper when I first tried it. I could eat this with or with out the yogurt. Having said that, when I dashed some pepper into the soup, it added a bit of a bite, I did not add or my batch did not need any salt because we could taste the flavor of the salt from the vegetable broth. I followed threw this recipe to a T. One thing if I could go back and change would be to add more vegetables, maybe an additional potato and leek to help bind some of the soup together. When it sits, the liquid separates from the actual apple/leek mixture. Adding the yogurt and combining in individual bowls does elminate that issue but I could get this with or with out the yogurt. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States