Currant Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is fabulous! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
My daughters made these with friends, and they were SO good. The girls made a second batch leaving out the currants and zest and adding chocolate chips. I hear they were delicious. I said HEAR because they didn't last long enough for me to try one. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Love this recipe. I roll 1/2 of recipe into flat rectangle, spread with soft butter then sugar or cinn. sugar. Cover with raisins or choc. chips. Fold 1/3 over then the other 1/3. Slice. Tuck in sides before baking. If you want to use orange marmalade tuck in 1 side & place open side up & top with tsp. orange marm. Really with mini choc chips & org marm. Don't use strawberry as it burns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I just made these for a Christmas Tea I am hosting. I only made one change and that was to use heavy cream instead of buttermilk. Being from England I just am more familiar with using cream in scone recipes. Other than that, they were amazing! and I will keep this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Perfect, moist scones. I did not have currants so I used dried blueberries with pleasing results. I love lemon so I will double the lemon zest next time, but these are wonderful as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
So wonderful!! I made them with homemade butter and homemade buttermilk and used cranberries as I was out of currants. They come out so moist and soft; these are insanely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happybaker
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I did not have currants. I used blueberries and lemon rind. To the other half of the dough, I added mini chocolate chips. Bottom line, the recipe of the dough is perfect. You can add other fruits or choc chips in place of the currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
These were so awesome. I subbed an peeled, chopped apple for the currants and threw in a handful of chopped pecans. Yum! Update: I've made this three times since my first time. Awesome every time. I personally think that they need to be cooked for 21 minutes in the oven, but that may just be me. I've just about got the recipe memorized now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Best scones ever! Even though I had to add more milk in it. I am a nine year old girl and I made them myself, so you can make them well too! BEST SCONES EVER!!!,!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
These were delicious scones, moist and perfectly flakey. We made these scones for a tea party shower. Instead of currants we used craisins in one batch and chocolate chips in another. One batch we just left plain. Since we were having a mixture of various types I didn't want them too big so I cut each rectangle in half before I cut the triangles giving us 24 scones in each batch. The scones were plenty large enough after that cut. We also made them the weekend before, cooked them almost done (about 15 minutes for us) and then froze them. On the day of the shower we took them out of the freezer to defrost. We then cooked them for another 5-7 minutes to finish cooking and heat them up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States