Currant Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Used the basic recipe to make date and chocolate chip scones. Substituted the currants for half a cup each of chocolate chips and half a cup of cut-up dates. Cut the sugar to a third of a cup and omitted the sugar on top. Thought that they would be good with buttermilk in the ingredients - and they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
These were wonderful. Instead of currants I used a mixture of candied ginger, dried apricots and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I have a different recipe that uses cream that my family loves...but we forgot to buy some and I looked for a recipe that used something else. I chose this one. It is different than scones with cream. These ones were less dense and more of a cakey center. The outside was crisp. They were delicious. My family thought they could be a little sweeter, but that is a personal preference. Soaking the currants made them pop a bit. My other recipe didn't call for that step, but I will be doing that from now on. We will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Great scones-I veganized it by using Earth Balance Butter and soy milk with a tablespoon of vinegar for the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I used apricots,dried. Should have soaked them first,remained hard. Great recipe.....I patted into 4 circles then cut in pie shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
These were delicious scones, moist and perfectly flakey. We made these scones for a tea party shower. Instead of currants we used craisins in one batch and chocolate chips in another. One batch we just left plain. Since we were having a mixture of various types I didn't want them too big so I cut each rectangle in half before I cut the triangles giving us 24 scones in each batch. The scones were plenty large enough after that cut. We also made them the weekend before, cooked them almost done (about 15 minutes for us) and then froze them. On the day of the shower we took them out of the freezer to defrost. We then cooked them for another 5-7 minutes to finish cooking and heat them up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Best scones ever! Even though I had to add more milk in it. I am a nine year old girl and I made them myself, so you can make them well too! BEST SCONES EVER!!!,!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
These were so awesome. I subbed an peeled, chopped apple for the currants and threw in a handful of chopped pecans. Yum! Update: I've made this three times since my first time. Awesome every time. I personally think that they need to be cooked for 21 minutes in the oven, but that may just be me. I've just about got the recipe memorized now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Happybaker
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I did not have currants. I used blueberries and lemon rind. To the other half of the dough, I added mini chocolate chips. Bottom line, the recipe of the dough is perfect. You can add other fruits or choc chips in place of the currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
So wonderful!! I made them with homemade butter and homemade buttermilk and used cranberries as I was out of currants. They come out so moist and soft; these are insanely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States