Currant Nut Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This is an excellent, excellent cookie. Perfect texture, perfect sweetness. I love the old fashioned style cookies. A great accompaniment to a cup of coffee or tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Thanks, WALLEN, for this super cookie recipe. I made them just as the recipe is written, making only the normal baking adjustments for my 8,000 foot altitude. The "dough" was more like a cross between dough and batter, and that worried me a bit...but the cookies came out high and light. I used a #52 portion scoop (1 1/3 tablespoons) and netted 78 cookies. The amount of icing was dead on for the number of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
great recipe - love that it uses buttermilk & brown sugar. Didn't have currants so made them without and currants. Sprinkled cookies with raw sugar before baking. Absolutely delicious & just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Of all the Christmas cookies and truffles that I made this year, this recipe seems to be the clear favorite. It's just a wonderful old-fashioned type of cookie that has perhaps (undeservedly) gone out of style. My only tip would be to hold off making the icing until you're good and ready to frost the cooled cookies. The icing wants to set up fast - which is a plus when you're in a baking frenzy and want to get the cookies stored as soon as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are so yummy! They were like little scones, and absolutely delicious while still warm. It was a stuggle keeping myself away from the dough before baking them all. I doubled the recipe, added some oats and flaxseed for a little extra variety, & sent them all out on Christmas cookie plates as gifts. Didn't make the glaze but I'm sure they'd be even better with it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Nice soft, not over the top sweet, cookie. Fabulous with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Really super good cookies! I subbed with mostly white sugar because I ran out of brown, and pecans because I didn't have walnuts. I baked these on a Sunday, and they were gone by Tuesday night! I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
These cookies are so yummy. I will love having one with a cup of coffee! The frosting is something I'd put on other cookies, too, because it is just wonderful. I made a small batch of these so I could try to use up my currants, but I will just have to buy more now. I did make one change, and that was to use all butter rather than the shortening. They were perfectly done in 8 minutes. Thanks for posting this recipe that's been a little lost around Allrecipes for a while! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States