Cupcake Princess' Vanilla Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I’m not a food science whiz but I’ve been baking a long time and I recognized some things in this recipe of concern. So I made some changes and ended up with a darn good vanilla cupcake. First, the baking soda - and no baking powder. Baking soda typically is used when there’s something acidic in the batter like chocolate or buttermilk but there is none here. Also, baking soda is 4 times as powerful as baking powder so why so much? If some reviewers complained of an off taste or if their cupcakes were crumbly and coarse too much baking soda could be the problem. I eliminated it entirely, substituting 1-1/2 tsp. of baking powder instead. Others reported these were dry – they might have over baked them, but I’m thinking 5 T. of butter wasn’t enough – I increased it to 1/2 cup. As for technique, I didn’t trust the instructions to heat the milk and butter. I used a traditional creaming method instead – cream the butter and sugar together till light and fluffy, add the eggs one at a time, blending well after each; add the vanilla. Add the dry ingredients, in thirds, alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour. Finally, still others mentioned a flat taste – I added 1/4 tsp. of salt rather than just a pinch, and 1-1/2 tsp. of vanilla. As I mixed up the batter I found it needed another 1/4 c. of flour. The cupcakes rose nicely, had great flavor, and were moist with a light and tender crumb. So, some problems as written, perfect with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I really liked these cupcakes. I doubled the recipe and got about 30 cupcakes (the cupcake cups were only filled halfway). I also put a piece of chocolate in the middle of each cupcake right before baking, because we are not very much into plain cupcakes :-) When I tasted a cupcake right from the oven, it did taste a little eggy (but perhaps I was just looking for this taste...) but once the cupcakes have cooled, they are perfect - moist and sort of fluffy at the same time. I think this is a perfect recipe for a basic cupcake batter and I can imagine all the variations for the creative folks - citrus flavour, cocoa/chocolate, coffee...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zlín, Zlínský Kra, Czech Republic
Living In: Brno, Jihomoravský Kraj, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made these and I wasn't thrilled. I thought they were chewy and not as flavorful as I expected I guess. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very tasty, moist and highly adaptable. This recipe will produce a very loose dough, perhaps more loose then some bakers are used to. Don't be tempted to reduce the liquids though or you will end up with a chewy sponge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Robillard

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I am not a cupcake fan and I never really make cupcakes so I thought for sure these would be flop. But I was totally wrong. These were great. Yes, they are a little more dense so if you are looking for a light treat, this is not it. But these were not only delicious they came out looking so professional! I even used tub margarine instead of butter and was not really exact with my TBSP and they still turned out amazing. Also, just like what the other posters said don't be nervous about the consistency of the batter. It is suppose to be thin. These are by far the best cupcakes I have made and I think they rate right up there with some professional varieties. These are also great for bake sales because they look so pretty and are great with any icing. Yuuummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moazhome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So i saw that sum of yall said it taste to much like egg . So what i did was Add 2 1/4 tsp of vanilla taste just like a vanilla cupcake should .Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
These were really really disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly. They had a funny almost bitter aftertaste and the texture was not good. The only edible parts were those covered in frosting (I used Caroline's chocolate fudge frosting from this site). No one finished theirs, not even my kids (who are usually licking up the last cupcake crumbs). They did look pretty and domed nicely, but that is the only compliment I have for them. :( **ETA: for some reason, these tasted significantly better when they were 2 and 3 days old than on the first day. They still didn't compare favorably to some other cupcake recipes we have tried recently, but I'm upgrading them to 3 stars now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I have made these several times using the exact recipe given and every time they turn out perfect. I too was skeptical of the thin batter but pleasently suprised how they turned out and they are not bland at all, I even ate some with no frosting! They are perfect to whip up for a real quick home-made dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *silverstar*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Very different mixture- I was afraid the cupcakes would be flat because the batter was very thin- but they were springy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Mine were very eggy and didn't have any flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States