Cupcake Princess' Vanilla Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I’m not a food science whiz but I’ve been baking a long time and I recognized some things in this recipe of concern. So I made some changes and ended up with a darn good vanilla cupcake. First, the baking soda - and no baking powder. Baking soda typically is used when there’s something acidic in the batter like chocolate or buttermilk but there is none here. Also, baking soda is 4 times as powerful as baking powder so why so much? If some reviewers complained of an off taste or if their cupcakes were crumbly and coarse too much baking soda could be the problem. I eliminated it entirely, substituting 1-1/2 tsp. of baking powder instead. Others reported these were dry – they might have over baked them, but I’m thinking 5 T. of butter wasn’t enough – I increased it to 1/2 cup. As for technique, I didn’t trust the instructions to heat the milk and butter. I used a traditional creaming method instead – cream the butter and sugar together till light and fluffy, add the eggs one at a time, blending well after each; add the vanilla. Add the dry ingredients, in thirds, alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour. Finally, still others mentioned a flat taste – I added 1/4 tsp. of salt rather than just a pinch, and 1-1/2 tsp. of vanilla. As I mixed up the batter I found it needed another 1/4 c. of flour. The cupcakes rose nicely, had great flavor, and were moist with a light and tender crumb. So, some problems as written, perfect with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was OK. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out very dry... I put them in for the recommended 20 minutes, and it was way too long. Next time I make these, I'll only put them in the oven fro 18 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was amazing! It was my first time trying cupcakes and these were really simple. However it did turn out a little eggy, and maybe next time i'll try adding more vanilla to it. I recommend this to all bakers-to-be if they are looking for a simple, just-enough-sweet, cupcake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Very chewy/sponge-like texture, and quite eggy. I added mini chocolate chips for a little flavor boost.. I'd consider them more of a muffin of some sort rather than a cupcake. They're not terrible, but there is really not much else you can do with them because of the odd texture. I co-own a bakery and I am always looking for new recipes to try, but this one will not go in the book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The cupcakes had a strong egg flavor and the texture of a sponge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made this recipe to be a cake. My husband and brother loved it! I followed it exactly. It was easy and simple! Have to say i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinggurl2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I loved the flavor of these and they baked up beautifully, but the texture was just off. Kind of spongy and on the dry side. I followed the recipe exactly. For flavor alone, I would like to try them again, but I'm not sure how to make them more moist. Maybe a little more milk and butter? Though the batter is already on the thin side. Maybe adding vegetable oil or sour cream? They are worth trying to tweak as they have the potential to be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
they were too much eggs and to dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crytsal Ma
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
i dont know why but when i baked them i had to keep them in longer than the time said but other tahn that these were amazong and just so easy to make. i really love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These got great reviews from everyone I served them to, but I thought they came out a touch too buttery - slightly muffin-like (if that makes sense :) ) A touch more flour wouldn't go amiss here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Travis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States