Cupcake Princess' Vanilla Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
love the recipe its got a nice non over powering sweet taste. is perfect paired with a whipped icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRbyCrystalTaylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Recipe made really good cupcakes. Kind of a denser cake, not light and fluffy but still very good. Not way too sweet, as you find in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
It turned out pretty good! I used lemon extract instead of vanilla because we were out. The texture is a bit odd when the butter/milk combo goes in. In the end, it turns out great, though! I added my yummy vanilla frosting on top and there goes very happy friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made these with the suggested changes from Naples34102 plus a chunk of chocolate in the middle. They turned out great...not too sweet. Something easy to make for school!! I didn't melt or heat anything...creamed butter and sugar, then added eggs vanilla and milk, stirred in dry ingredients and then blended for less than a minute. Definitely in my recipe box. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, and they came out tasting like boiled egg with a little vanilla poured over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.They are chewy, bland, and hardly rose at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I’m not a food science whiz but I’ve been baking a long time and I recognized some things in this recipe of concern. So I made some changes and ended up with a darn good vanilla cupcake. First, the baking soda - and no baking powder. Baking soda typically is used when there’s something acidic in the batter like chocolate or buttermilk but there is none here. Also, baking soda is 4 times as powerful as baking powder so why so much? If some reviewers complained of an off taste or if their cupcakes were crumbly and coarse too much baking soda could be the problem. I eliminated it entirely, substituting 1-1/2 tsp. of baking powder instead. Others reported these were dry – they might have over baked them, but I’m thinking 5 T. of butter wasn’t enough – I increased it to 1/2 cup. As for technique, I didn’t trust the instructions to heat the milk and butter. I used a traditional creaming method instead – cream the butter and sugar together till light and fluffy, add the eggs one at a time, blending well after each; add the vanilla. Add the dry ingredients, in thirds, alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour. Finally, still others mentioned a flat taste – I added 1/4 tsp. of salt rather than just a pinch, and 1-1/2 tsp. of vanilla. As I mixed up the batter I found it needed another 1/4 c. of flour. The cupcakes rose nicely, had great flavor, and were moist with a light and tender crumb. So, some problems as written, perfect with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was OK. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out very dry... I put them in for the recommended 20 minutes, and it was way too long. Next time I make these, I'll only put them in the oven fro 18 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was amazing! It was my first time trying cupcakes and these were really simple. However it did turn out a little eggy, and maybe next time i'll try adding more vanilla to it. I recommend this to all bakers-to-be if they are looking for a simple, just-enough-sweet, cupcake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Very chewy/sponge-like texture, and quite eggy. I added mini chocolate chips for a little flavor boost.. I'd consider them more of a muffin of some sort rather than a cupcake. They're not terrible, but there is really not much else you can do with them because of the odd texture. I co-own a bakery and I am always looking for new recipes to try, but this one will not go in the book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States