Cupcake Princess' Vanilla Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
really,simple....yet,soooo,yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
These were really really disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly. They had a funny almost bitter aftertaste and the texture was not good. The only edible parts were those covered in frosting (I used Caroline's chocolate fudge frosting from this site). No one finished theirs, not even my kids (who are usually licking up the last cupcake crumbs). They did look pretty and domed nicely, but that is the only compliment I have for them. :( **ETA: for some reason, these tasted significantly better when they were 2 and 3 days old than on the first day. They still didn't compare favorably to some other cupcake recipes we have tried recently, but I'm upgrading them to 3 stars now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Mine were very eggy and didn't have any flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made these and I wasn't thrilled. I thought they were chewy and not as flavorful as I expected I guess. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I really liked these cupcakes. I doubled the recipe and got about 30 cupcakes (the cupcake cups were only filled halfway). I also put a piece of chocolate in the middle of each cupcake right before baking, because we are not very much into plain cupcakes :-) When I tasted a cupcake right from the oven, it did taste a little eggy (but perhaps I was just looking for this taste...) but once the cupcakes have cooled, they are perfect - moist and sort of fluffy at the same time. I think this is a perfect recipe for a basic cupcake batter and I can imagine all the variations for the creative folks - citrus flavour, cocoa/chocolate, coffee...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zlín, Zlínský Kra, Czech Republic
Living In: Brno, Jihomoravský Kraj, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I'm Going To Make These Tonight For A Dessert With Dinner,....I Hope They Turn Out Great! (: Thanks For Sharing The Recipe. ---Baker 14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandria Robbins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Very different mixture- I was afraid the cupcakes would be flat because the batter was very thin- but they were springy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I frosted this with pink cherry butter cream and chocolate fudge frosting with a pink chocolate candy on top. The cake was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by des114

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These cupcakes did not turn out good at all, definitely not the best I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princess cupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
these were wonderful for the kids but i think theres too much sugar involved but beside that its very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kokoro56697

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States