Cumin and Coriander Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Followed the recipe and it turned out great. Will use it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This quickly became a favorite in our house. Love it just the way it is written but it is also easy to mix up when you are missing some ingredients (parsley for cilantro, red onion for green, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
its very similar to a Indian recipe,you can heat some oil, let the Cumins and some black mustard seeds splutter along with some finely chopped onions till it browns, just add the peas, add salt and a pinch of red chilli powder. Garnish with cilantro, chopped tomatoes, green chilles and may be some grated coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asha N Basu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I threw in 1 teaspoonful of ground coriander with this, but nothing else extra. When I took it to work everyone commented on how awesome it smelled. One of my coworkers thought it smelled good but wouldn't eat it because she said she hated garbanzo beans. After watching me munch for quite a while I convinced her to try it. She couldn't stop eating it! I brought extra for her the next day so I could have mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Tasty as a wrap in an iceberg lettuce leaf. Cucumber added crunch and roasted red pepper added color. Red wine vinegar in the dressing gave a nice flavor and also added a hint of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This recipe is terrific. I didn't have all the ingredients, so I improvised with balsamic vinegar, ground cumin, fresh coriander, diced spanish onion and green pepper and hot sauce. It was delicious. My boyfriend loved it, even though he hates all the ingredients individually...I just didn't tell me what was in the salad! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Doubled cumin and substituted parsley for cilantro. I get lots of requests for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This recipe is very similar to what my friend from India makes. She doesn't use a recipe and just throws things in a bowl so it is hard for me to get recipes from her. I did use both red and yellow peppers (for added color) and halved the recipe but other than that I followed the recipe to a "T". My friend also makes this same recipe using canned corn in place of the chickpeas. She always has something interesting and new and I always look forward to eating at her house! Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I really liked this - left out the bell pepper and added a bunch of diced fresh tomatoes instead. Next time I will also add some feta cheese. Also used fresh basil instead of cilantro. Loved the fresh taste the ginger creates :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was just amazing. I adapted it as follows: (1) Halved the recipe; (2) Did not use onion; (3) Added an extra splash of lemon juice and vinegar (and used cider vinegar; didn't have white-wine); (4) 1/4 heaping teaspoon of ground ginger (didn't have fresh), a little extra cumin, and only a pinch of cayenne; (5) substituted one can of chickpeas for a can of rinsed black beans - was low on chickpeas; and finally (6) added some sliced meaty green olives, marinated in olive oil only, from an Armenian store. Really fabulous salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States