Cumin Turkey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
These are some of the tastiest burgers I have ever had. They are different than your run of the mill beef burgers, so you really cannot compare the two. The first time I made these I had a cut on one of my fingers and hesitantly, because I love spicy food, left out the jalapenos; I also used ground chicken because it was on sale that week. They were so good that I made them this way several times, eventually I made them with turkey as well as jalapenos and to my amazement I did not care for them as much. Not to say they were bad, it just reinforced one of my favorite sayings “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.” Other than that, adding a bit more breadcrumbs and using closer to 2 pounds of meat (because I never see half pounds of meat for sale) I make this recipe as it is written. I have developed a few “tricks” for dealing with how hard to handle these patties are: I make them ahead of time and allow them to congeal in the refrigerator for a couple of hours, when I am placing them on the grill I use a claw-like motion to apply even pressure to each side and once they are on the grill I try to repair any damage the best I can. Also, once they are on the grill do not mess with them for awhile, this allows them to firm up nicely and actually be pretty easy to flip. I serve these on onion rolls with avocado, tomato, lettuce and shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learntosink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Cumin Turkey Burger Haiku: "Oh my, this was good. Dressed up with treats, I inhaled. I will make again!" Normally I think ground turkey smells like a poot when it's cooking, but these burgers DID smell nice w/ all the spice and seasoning additions. I did mine on ye olde George Foreman, then patty-melted it in a Fold-it (love those things!) w/ sauteed onions and cheese, then dressed it up a la any other burger, but truth be told, the burger was tasty enough that it didn't necessarily need to be "hidden" w/ toppings the way that I usually find bland turkey burgers to be. Dropped it a star b/c the patties were a little wet and soggy to shape, and I think they needed just a bit more kick - cayenne or more jalapenos perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
EXTREMELY DELICIOUS! My husband makes these and the kids ask for them at least once a week. We adjust the jalapenos...sometimes we leave them out and sometimes we include only one. We also use less soy sauce and less worcestershire, because 1/4 cup of each makes the mixture too thin. We serve on whole wheat slider buns with pepper jack cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
They are so good. I have made them many times, My husband asks for them. They are so juicy. First time I made them I did not have the peppers. They are just as good with or with out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHIRLEYANNK
Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Made this without the jalapeno peppers as none to hand . Following low carb diet so omitted the bun and served with home made coleslaw (lighter than light mayo!). A real tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Great idea for a Turkey Burger. Unfortunately I thought the soy sauce was way too strong, and I even used a bit less then the recipe and used the low sodium. Maybe using Tamari would be better than regular soy sauce. I didn't add the egg or bread crumbs. It didn't need it, it held together fine after refrigerating for a while and being careful when turning. Topped the burger with cheddar, raw onion, and a sauce made with chili sauce (the stuff found by the ketchup at the store) and mayo mixed together. I was happy with those toppings. Cooked these in a skillet instead of a grill, worked fine, just make sure to get a nice caramelized crust. I want to try this again with less soy and maybe a tad more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Save the time and add a packet of taco seasoning instead. I wasn't too fond of this recipe however my husband seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
my hubby didn't really care for these burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Wow! Spicy and delicious! Great with chipotle mayo...next time I'll try it with jicama slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Unfortunately, we didn't enjoy these. We found the amount of soy and Worcestershire to be too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Hirota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States