Cucumbers with Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Great simple side dish! I was actually trying to find MY grandmother's recipe, and this was it! Altho, I have to say I add some onion. It IS especially good over the mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This was definitely not what I expected. I don't believe heavy cream and cucumbers are meant to go together. I'm not saying it was awful, but I think I only had about two bites. Not too great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This is the best recipes for cucumbers I have used. Absolutely loved the tangy flavor of sour cream with the cucumbers & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Slaton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
THIS WAS VERY GOOD, BUT I WAS A LITTLE CONFUSED..THE RECIPE NAME IS CUCUMBERS IN SOUR CREAM AND THE RECIPE CALLS FOR HEAVY CREAM....I USED FAT FREE SOUR CREAM AND THESE CUCUMBERS TURNED OUT GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
My grandmother and mother made a recipe almost like this for years and I continue to make it. The only difference is we add sugar (approx. 1 teas. for every couple of tablespoons of vinegar). I slice the cucumbers very thin using my mandoline slicer and then add the sour cream, vinegar, sugar, s&p, and mix it all together. The addition of dill sounds great! I'll have to try it next time I make this. My husband loves this served over mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Very good I added sugar to take the bit out of the vinegar and add some sleced onion in it. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie Theus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was just OK - I used sour cream which I think this recipe meant to call for. I would add some onions if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is really delicious with almost any sandwich, burgers, brats, etc. I used sour cream, as I assume was intended. I mixed the cucumber slices with close to a teaspoon of salt and let them drain for about an hour before adding the other ingredients. I also used white wine vinegar and about 1/2 teaspoon dried dill. Be sure to chill well. Almost addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I had to add a little bit of sugar in order to eat even one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Perfect easy salad chilled for summer. Great after a hot day!! We loved it. Also great to make ahead of time and stick it in the frige. I used heavy whipping cream, not sour cream. Mixing it with the vinager gave it the "sour cream" taste, but I added a bit more cream to take some of the tangyness out of it which made it more saucy than creamy. But still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States