Cucumbers with Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Using heavy cream didn't sound appealing to use with cucumbers even by my friends who were over for munchies and a movie so in order to not waste too much by way of ingredients I made a 1/2 serving portion of the sauce using heavy cream and another using sour cream for taste testing first. Using sour cream won by a landslide. Thanks for a quick flavorful dressing idea though :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I love the simplicity of this dish. I didn't realize you could make such delicious sour cream that way!!! Whenever I'm out and I need a substitute, I now have a recipe!!! Love the combination of flavors. I would think this would be great over salmon, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Fantastic! This is a really simple recipe, and different from other cucumber salads I've had in the past. The only change I made was using about four or five fresh sprigs of dill and I added garlic powder. I'll bet chopped water chestnuts would make a great addition as well. Also, I let it chill for about four hours to let the flavors blend. Yummy and it is on my low carb diet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Perfect! Just like Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coribeans
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I'd been looking for a recipe like my grandmother's, and this is VERY close. She would slice the cucumber into thin rounds and press them overnight to remove the moisture. She also added sliced onions and let the entire mixture sit for several hours to allow the flavours to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Fresh, simple, & delicious. Paired very well with BBQ-grilled Bratswurst, although it would go with almost anything, esp. spicy, grilled foods.Than ks for a recipe, to use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Just like I remember Mom's. I added fresh parsley & used fresh dill instead of dried. Great way to use up all my cukes. Thanks for a great submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
very good summer side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
For those who are changing the recipe to what they think the submitter intended, the "sour cream" comes from the combination of vinegar (sour) and heavy cream (cream). Cream can be soured with all sorts of things, including vinegar. The person who posted this uses the words "cream" or "heavy cream" 4 times, it's unlikely to be a typo. Give it a shot as written (it's pretty good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is the only way I'll eat cucumbers! I usually add minced shallots, garlic and mint. Great salad for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States