Cucumbers with Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Simple but very comforting easy to make will not take too much of time preparing Im loving it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
i've been making this for 50 years, but, i also use sugar (about equal amounts of vinegar and sugar).i also prefer to use the small english cucumbers. my 4 sons LOVE this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nobleton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Heavy cream, I don't think so.....sour cream, yeas. Cucumbers exude a lot of water, hence the heavy cream, being liquid, does not work well. I have tried all the tricks in the book to not have too much liquid at the bottom of the bowl - to no avail - mayo works the best and no fuss, but the sour cream is delicious with added scallions, salt, pepper, chives and or dill - regardless, cucumbers are bottom line delicious in any form....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I remember my mother making this as a side dish but, she would slice onions and separate into rings fold the cucumbers, onions and sour cream or she might have concocted something similar with condensed milk, quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
all you need is sour cream and sliced cukes - drain the cukes overnight to eliminate as much liquid as possible - dill optional. i added chopped garlic. you can also do this same recipe with plain greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Using heavy cream didn't sound appealing to use with cucumbers even by my friends who were over for munchies and a movie so in order to not waste too much by way of ingredients I made a 1/2 serving portion of the sauce using heavy cream and another using sour cream for taste testing first. Using sour cream won by a landslide. Thanks for a quick flavorful dressing idea though :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I love the simplicity of this dish. I didn't realize you could make such delicious sour cream that way!!! Whenever I'm out and I need a substitute, I now have a recipe!!! Love the combination of flavors. I would think this would be great over salmon, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Fantastic! This is a really simple recipe, and different from other cucumber salads I've had in the past. The only change I made was using about four or five fresh sprigs of dill and I added garlic powder. I'll bet chopped water chestnuts would make a great addition as well. Also, I let it chill for about four hours to let the flavors blend. Yummy and it is on my low carb diet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Perfect! Just like Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coribeans
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I'd been looking for a recipe like my grandmother's, and this is VERY close. She would slice the cucumber into thin rounds and press them overnight to remove the moisture. She also added sliced onions and let the entire mixture sit for several hours to allow the flavours to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States