Cucumbers in Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I make this with seasoned rice wine vinegar and just about a teaspoon of sugar. I tried this one and it was a little too sweet. I think I'm just accustomed to my families version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
i have been looking for this recipe for a long time. the sugar is what makes it. i did add some very finely minced onion and TONS of fresh cracked pepper(personal preferences). thanks for the submission tara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is very good and a great summer side-dish. I think the next time I will reduce the sugar some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumz2Busy (Rose)
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is definately different. I cut down on the sugar just a bit and to me it was still too sweet. The sauce tasted a lot like a dessert dip you would make for fruit. A little odd with cucumber (for my taste anyway). Not great, but not horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I thought this was good but way too much sour cream. I'd like to try it again with less sour cream and a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I thought I invented it myself - which I did, that's funny. I cut the cucumber down the middle and remove some of the seeds by running a spoon down the middle. I add sliced red onion and radishes sometimes for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was tasty and refreshing on a hot summer day!! I did not bother soaking the cucumbers in water - my cucumbers were garden fresh and crispy enough already. I just mixed the sauce up and added the cucumbers and some chopped onion. It was a great side dish with sloppy joes and homemade oven-fried french fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great summer side salad, I used English cucumbers and added chopped vidalia onions. It was a hit! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I did not soak the cucumbers but just cut them and put them right in the sour cream mixture. Still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WREDWRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Ilike this recipe but I would prefer to have green onion and creamy cottage cheese mixed in with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States