Cucumbers in Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made these as written and didn't quite like the taste at first but after they set awhile, I loved them. I would definitely make these again and let them set before serving. They make a quick, easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I cut the recipe in half since I only had one cucumber and I have to say, I'm rather glad I did. This really didn't go over that well. I only added 1 tbsp on sugar and it was still too much. This would be a much better dish if the sugar was completely omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This recipe is easy and delicious. My husband eats very few vegetables, but cucumbers are one of his favorites, and this is an interesting change for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
If you like them less soupy, which we do, salt the cucumbers and let them set for at least 1 hour. I rinse the salt off but you don't have to. This is actually a very good base for a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Boyd Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This has such a yummy, quick and very easy dish to make and serve. I made a few changes that I feel made a huge difference. I added some finely chopped red onion and a couple teaspoons of dill. We were going to eat it quickly, so I didn't even bother to soak the cucumbers. We didn't have any problems! Pure yummyness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I make a very similar Cucumber Salad but instead of soaking overnight I peel, slice super thin into a colander over a bowl and sprinkle generously with salt. Put a bowl or dish on top of the cucumbers to press out the liquid. Let stand for a good hour or more. Mix up your dressing in the meantime--I always add fresh dill 1/3 cup or so and Fresh parsley also about 1/3 cup or so. Sugar to taste. I like to let the dressing and drained cukes meld so usually make this in the morning for an evening meal. Delicious with Steaks and Baked potatoes!!---I usually do my potatoes by slicing them into thick disks and inserting onion between each disk. Sprinkle with seasoned salt and fresh cracked pepper, then drizzle with olive oil right into the foil packet. throw on the grill for 45 - 60 min---so deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I love these cucumbers!!! I will for sure make them again!Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
If add a choped clove of garlic and add a 1/2 tsp. of dill, the rating goes up to 5 stars!! Very yummy with garlic and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This recipe is very much like my Mom use to make. It is wonderful. I did add a little fresh dill, only because my planted needed a trimming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I loved eating something like this as a kid. I added thinly sliced sweet onion to it and I think that makes the dish. I don't think soaking the cucumbers was necessary and was a pain to dry. I will skip that part next time. I wish the sauce wasn't quite so watery also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States