Cucumbers in Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is definately different. I cut down on the sugar just a bit and to me it was still too sweet. The sauce tasted a lot like a dessert dip you would make for fruit. A little odd with cucumber (for my taste anyway). Not great, but not horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I thought this was good but way too much sour cream. I'd like to try it again with less sour cream and a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I thought I invented it myself - which I did, that's funny. I cut the cucumber down the middle and remove some of the seeds by running a spoon down the middle. I add sliced red onion and radishes sometimes for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was tasty and refreshing on a hot summer day!! I did not bother soaking the cucumbers in water - my cucumbers were garden fresh and crispy enough already. I just mixed the sauce up and added the cucumbers and some chopped onion. It was a great side dish with sloppy joes and homemade oven-fried french fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great summer side salad, I used English cucumbers and added chopped vidalia onions. It was a hit! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I did not soak the cucumbers but just cut them and put them right in the sour cream mixture. Still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WREDWRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Ilike this recipe but I would prefer to have green onion and creamy cottage cheese mixed in with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I will have to agree with the previous review. Too sweet and too much sour cream. I will try it again cutting back the sugar in half as well as the sour cream and vinegar. I did add thinly sliced onion and garlic powder for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This recipe has been in our family for over 40 yrs. But my goodness, whats with all of the sugar. This is not dessert. Less is more ! Also WAY TOO much sour cream , a goodly dollop will do. Also I always add garlic powder to give it the best flavor. Otherwise it is a great recipe. (from my precious Hungarian mother in law).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I have been making this for years, except I add sliced sweet onions and only use english cukes (burpless). I have never soaked the cukes first. I just add the cukes and onion to the dressing and refridgerate until the flavors blend. (at least 3-4 hours). If you want to take this recipe one step farther, add cooked rotini pasta before refrigeration. The grandkids Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States