Cucumbers in Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is a recipe I grew up on. My Hungarian Mother made it weekly, though she added a little paprika for garnish and flavor. I also add just a bit of garlic. Less sugar, closer to a 1/4 cup. It's a favorite and a unique side dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is the same way I make mine but with less sugar. I like the "slightly" sweet and sourness 1/3 cup is way to much. I also like my cucumbers peeled and salted than rinsed with water, drained and with sliced onions added. This was always the way my mom did it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was good. Cut down on the sour cream and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
It's not necessary to do the 4 hour or overnight soak in my opinion, just mix it all up (with some sliced onion if you like!) and refrigerate while you fix the rest of your dinner. I thought the vinegar to sugar ratio was perfect! I have used plain yogurt in place of sour cream and you can hardly tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Good basic recipe Recipes are meant as a guide can can your own touches 2 Tablespoons sugar is plenty for me I usually use Splenda or Sugar twin you can also use dill and/or garlic or garlic powder After browsing thru these recipes, I found found some that use up to 2 cups of sugar making it like candy not a salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Took over reviewers advise, added 1/2 the sugar, dill and onion...let it sit overnight. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newfane, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
So happy to see this recipe. My grandmother would always make this when I was growing up. I remembered the sour cream and vinegar and sugar but not the ratio. Brings back great memories. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Charlton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I wish I could give this more stars. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. Now I double the number of cucumbers, and add thinly sliced Vidalia onions. Great way to use up a garden full of cucumbers. thank you tarawvu for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I thought these were excellent. I had been trying to make this type cucumber salad on my own and it never came out quite right. I followed the suggestions of others and cut back on the sugar a little bit and I'm glad I did, they were perfect. I have also made them where I added scallion and that was delicious also. A perfect recipe for a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States