Cucumbers in Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is a tasty recipe for cucumbers. I made two changes; I only used 2 teaspoons of sugar and 3 teaspoons of vinegar. Otherwise it would be too sweet. There is no need to soak the cucumbers for 4 hours. Add salt to them and let soak in a colander for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
My mom always made these and so it's a favorite. I make them the same way as this recipe except I only use a very small amount of sugar, just to taste....like a teaspoon! It's just a matter of taste I know...so thank you TARAWVU for sharing this :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Too much sugar!!! I added sliced onion and 1 tsp minced garlic. Also, after tasting, added more vinegar. Will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Very, very good! II made this without any changes, using a scant 1/3 cup of sugar, and adding a few thin sliced onions. I have a feeling this will be a staple around here this summer. Would be great to take to potlucks! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Wonderful! I've eaten cucumber salad over the years, several different family members make it, but I've never actually made it myself. So when I found really fresh, great looking cucumbers at a REALLY low price at the farmers market, I knew what I wanted to make. Only one problem...all those years of eating cucumber salad and I never bothered to ask anyone for a recipe! Allrecipes saves the day again! This is a great base recipe to get the vinegar/sugar ratio correct, then it's easily customizable. I added dill, lemon pepper, celery salt and onion powder(not a fan of raw onions). I also used fat-free sour cream, going to try plain Greek yogurt next time. Even after salting(to get the water out) 4 VERY large cucumbers, the sauce was a little thin(although the sauce still clung to the slices). Next time I'll have to serve it with a slotted spoon, but I think my family might disagree with me on that, as they used their dinner rolls to mop up the sauce that pooled on their plates...yes, the sauce is that good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Love the sour from the vinegar and sweet from a pinch of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SauceChickinLakeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakeway, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Wonderful recipe. With the exception of adding onions, I followed the ingredients exactly. I did not soak the cukes overnight and I don't really think that part is necessary. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I add dill weed for flavoring. I also use a lot of salt to draw out the moisture from the cucumbers. Just layer the cukes with salt and draw out the water. Then rinse it well to get as much salt off as possible. I've made this both with the sour cream and without. Both are good. I also slice in an onion. Recently I had some summer squash that I didn't know how to use. I prepped it just like the cukes and got a nice side dish. The recipe as presented is really a good basic one. Take it to the next level with your own touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Love this recipe!! I've always used mayonnaise for my creamed cucumbers but this is REALLY good!! Definitely a j Keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is a recipe I grew up on. My Hungarian Mother made it weekly, though she added a little paprika for garnish and flavor. I also add just a bit of garlic. Less sugar, closer to a 1/4 cup. It's a favorite and a unique side dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States