Cucumber and Cantaloupe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was really tasty! A great change from your everyday green salad. Even my husband liked it. I'll definately make it again, but I'll peel the cucumber, and cut down a bit on the sugar. Very quick to toss together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Not sure what happened in the publishing process. Originally this recipe called for a tablespoon of Honteri or Mirin, not sugar. These are sweet cooking sauces which you can definitely find in Asian grocery stores, but most major grocery stores also carry them. If you are going to use sugar I would recommend only using a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was AWESOME! I made it for my husband and I to pack in our lunch and it was delicious. I used cayenne pepper & roasted red pepper flakes and plain EVOO instead of chili oil! The sesame seeds were the perfect crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Fugrim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Very good - following the submitters correction in the reviews. Hope AR changes the ingredients & directions for you. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Pretty good, though somehow I thought it would be mindblowing. It sounded like a simple-yet-genius dish. I overhyped it in my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I love all the ingredients seperately so figured this MUST be good. I was wrong. I could not stand this recipe. Actually, no one in the house could. Sorry, I really expected to like it but didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Double the marinade decrease sugar to teaspoons not tablespoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This needs more rice vinegar and the spicy like chili powder or the red pepper spice. It's really a good dish with spring rolls. Very nice. We like the change and its different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Solid. I like things a bit spicy so I doubled the chili oil and cut down on the sugar. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States