Cucumber and Avocado Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yum! I was really in the mood for some rolls today and when considering the drive to Bennihana, I suddenly remembered I had some nori in my pantry. I actually used the recipe for "Perfect Sushi Rice" because I had some issues in the past with the "sushi rice" I'd bought, but then went back to follow this one. These rolls are incredible! I'm going to add smoked salmon next time...these really satisfied my craving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
YUM!!! I made this for my friends and it was a big hit! Served w/ Soy and Teriaki Sauces. Recipe is so easy and quick, even my 10 yr old sister made it by herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
My girlfriends and I had a shshi afternoon a few weeks back, and this was one of the kinds that we tryed. We experimented and used sushsi mayo on some, and left the others plain, just to see what kind we liked best. Both were very good. Oh ya, we added crab to these rolls too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I tried this last night it was sooo good! The avocado and cucumber went together perfectly. I also added some tuna in one roll tasted really good too. Great thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
A great recipe! I added crab sticks to a few, and also smoked salmon. The smoked salmon was a delicious addition! Definitely need some dipping sauce such as soy sauce or wasabi to add flavor if just using cucumber and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My roommate and I used this recipe as a base (and motivational factor in making sushi at all) for our own sushi. Although we didn't have cucumber and avocado sushi, I am giving this recipe a 5 because we wouldn't have otherwise made it without this recipe inspiring confidence (this is a VERY easy dish). We used things we had in the fridge to make our own "unique" sushi rolls. They included (1) Pepperoni Pizza Sushi Roll: Use several pepperoni to make a line on the rice, add some mozzarella, a line of spagetti or tomato sauce (we used tomato basil sauce we had left over), sprinkle with crushed red pepper and garlic salt; (2) Roast Beef Sushi Roll: a line of roast beef (we used sandwich meat) on the sushi roll, a line of cream cheese, and a line of red bell pepper; (3) Turkey Sushi Roll: a line of sandwich turkey, line of avacado, line of wasabi sauce, line of cream cheese. We also had several dipping sauces on hand, eg soy sauce, wasabi sauce, and spicy ranch (we couldn't find sushi mayo). It was delicious, we are making more this week for a dinner party. My boyfriend and his best friend stopped by during our meal and also LOVED the sushi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This was my first time attempting sushi. This recipe was super simple and tastes just sushi I've had in resturants. I chose to add real crab meat. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
great recipe my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is a good recipe for a basic sushi. Including avocado and cucumber as a starting point, we also added a thin slice of omlette, crab meat, and roasted bell peppers. In another roll, we put tuna, supremed oranges and blanched asparagus spears. In yet another roll, we put pickled beets and goat cheese. You can do just about anything with sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
What fun and how tasty. We made this recipe with a party of 12 year olds. I put out bowls of chopped veggies, panko bread crumbs, and imitation crab for the filling and toasted black and white sesame seeds for the outside. They loved making their own rolls. I used wax paper to roll them and it worked out great. I have also made these for adult parties and gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States