Cucumber-Watermelon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Better two days later. So little calories; such big taste. These are totally refreshing, too. I liked then a lot better than my husband, who has a few dislikes when it comes with food. It could be a girl thing such as for a bridal/baby shower. My watermelon created a lot of juice and I had cut back on the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I let it sit for a few hours in the fridge and the flavors blended to perfection. A bit salty and a bit sweet. I let the cukes sit in the balsamic vinegar before adding to the watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is pretty good. The balsamic is what really makes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was great! Used Kosher salt, included the sugar, and used superb quality vinegar. Also added an avocado. Very nice brunch salad! The only thing I might change next time would be to use a white balsamic, as the brown masks the vibrancy of the melon and cuke colors together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was fantastic. I served it at a family BBQ and everyone raved about how good it was. And the best part is how easy it is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was really disappointing for us. To be fair, I got called away in the middle of making it, and the watermelon and cucumber had to sit (after being tossed with the salt and sugar) for a while before I added the balsamic vinegar. When I came back, there was a lot of liquid to pour off. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, but we weren't huge fans of the results. The cucumber tasted really salty, and overall it seemed like a waste of good ingredients (including a superb balsamic vinegar, the best I've ever had). The baby liked it, but no one else was wowed. I thought I would have liked to try it with feta like other reviewers suggested, but given how salty the cukes were, I don't think it would have been a good mix. I'm not sure if the wait really made that big of a difference, but I won't be trying it again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Such a surprise! The watermelon and cucumber work so well together. I added white onion for an additional balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windlegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Good...it was a little watery by the time I served it...will wait to add vinegar until very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
A wave of flavors in your mouth! Sweet and Salty and so refreshing. Followed the directions exactly (including the sugar) and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I've made this twice. The first time I followed the recipe & used balsamic vinegar. I thought it was too strong. The next time I used apple cider vinegar & it was fabulous. Also, I peeled & de-seeded the cucumbers. Was a really big hit at the party I brought it to. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States